How do u know ur system temps? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default How do u know ur system temps?

Hi, do u just use programs to learn ur cpu etc temps or do u hafta have hardware? Im going to be ordering a graphics and sound card from newegg so i could get temp hardware on same order, and i wanna make sure my p4 2.6 gig cpu oc to 3.6 isnt 2 hot....i know through bios my cpu is running 116 F /46 C at idle, but i wanna know wat it does under stress....so if u use hardware, wat is it called and if u use programs, plz suggest some...thanx
__________________

__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

speedfan
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I find out my system temp via a Thermaltake Hardcano 12.
It monitors both System Temp and Fan Speeds.

I don't trust software or BIOS for the temp setting as I have seem them be completely wrong too many times.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 06:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

thanx guys, i am using speedfan now and it seems to be working great
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 07:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

i got this program ASUS probe off my mobo disk, it tells me temps and fan speeds and such.
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

MBM5. and do a search this has been covered many times
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

Ok guys, i tested each program suggested....I decided to go with a program becuz they are free versus 50 bucks for a external thermometer....

1. Speedfan----becuz it has fast update speeds and easy understand display altho mobo support is lacking..i have 848PE ECS...and is great for a average user....i really like it

2. Asus Probe....decent display....but slow update speed and isnt user friendly as speedfan

3. Mbm5....dashboard display??? come on!!! gimme a break...too complicated for a average user....

SO conclusion...if u arnt a extremist----GO WITH SPEEDFAN

http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 07:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

speedfan is probably the most inaccurate temp program for windows. they said my cpu temp with -40C .........
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 07:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

they mustv updated since u used it...becuz all 3 progs displayed 39 c.....
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 08:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
speedfan is probably the most inaccurate temp program for windows. they said my cpu temp with -40C .........

You probably had some offset values set......... I can make my CPU come up -1000c if i wanted too.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.