how do i overclock a vid card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2004, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default how do i overclock a vid card?

just curious as to how to overclock a vid card. I have an ATI 9200 128mb (which I saw read some else didn't have much luck overclocking) I know how to overclock the cpu, but the vid card....?
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

I wouldnt because that card doesnt have sufficient cooling
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 02:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

I know, it didn't even have a fan on the heat sink so I added one myself. the fan was rated at 7.5 cfps blow rate. I don't know if that is going to make a bit of differnce but it sure as hell can't hurt.
jaksback is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 02:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

the only thing that helps with performance on a 9200, is overclocking the memory. but my memory gets really hot, so i suggest getting to bga ram sinks til you decide to upgrade to a better card
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Soloman02: how did you overclock your 9200, with the ATITool app.?

This is the best score that I can get with the vid setup I have....sad isn't it?

jaksback is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

i used ati tool, since the memory sucks so much, i clocked it to 180 ( def was 166 on my card) the memory i have is not ment for overclocking, if i had some bga ram sinks, i might be able to go farther, but i don't. i used 3dmark03 and got 1113( or something close to it) after overclocking. also, you have to download a special driver for a 9200 for ati tool.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

yeah, there called the omega drivers, which I did. default for my mem was 200 and default for core was like 249. when I messed with it a little I got some instant major screen trash that just kept getting worse to the point where I wasn't able to readjust what I adjusted and had to manually restart (the whole time praying it wasn't gonna be like that after restart). All was well but I am not gonna mess with that ati tool again. Least not until I know what I'm doing exactly.

Well, if you only got a 2dmark score of over 1100 then I should be pleased with the one I have, I guess.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.