how do i overclock processor? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2009, 07:58 PM   #31 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Glad you have it all solved now.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 08:48 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

hehe yea thanks, i just hope i installed it right...saw on the box, the instructions and a youtube video of a guy installed it..and they all had the fan facing the video cards but blowing towards the top of the case.

i need some serious cable management..zip ties kinda look ghetto
__________________

__________________
Mobo: Asus P5N-D
CPU: Intel Core duo E8500 OC'd to 3.8GHZ
PS: 750w
GPU: ATI radeon HD5850
Ram: 6GB 800mhz (bah, need upgrades)
Xigmatek Dark Knight heat sink
case: aprevia X-discovery w/ 4 fans
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:43 PM   #33 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Yeah the way they set it up in the video is the best way for heat removal.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:26 AM   #34 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Hey, i Overclocked my processor in the bios using this thread as a template

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- P5N-D E8500 OVERCLOCK PROBLEMS


and here are the specs i entered

FSB: 1600MHz
Mem: 800MHz

VCore: 1.31v
Ram : 2.110v
HT : 1.46v
NB : 1.46v
SB : Auto

i just turned my comp on 10 min ago. it's running at 3.8ghz right now and it's idling at 48 C i'll keep my computer on for a few hours see what the temps get to...do i only have to watch out for the temp? or do i have to look out for other things to? like smoke and a fire lol


edit: been running the comp for about 35-45 min..currently playing a game which is taking up 85% of the load..and it's peaking at 60 C
__________________
Mobo: Asus P5N-D
CPU: Intel Core duo E8500 OC'd to 3.8GHZ
PS: 750w
GPU: ATI radeon HD5850
Ram: 6GB 800mhz (bah, need upgrades)
Xigmatek Dark Knight heat sink
case: aprevia X-discovery w/ 4 fans
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 03:49 AM   #35 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Very nice work ).

I haven't said this but I'm also running an E8500. It used to be in my sig. Absolutely love it. Great little CPU.

What RAM are you using?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 04:00 AM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
Very nice work ).

I haven't said this but I'm also running an E8500. It used to be in my sig. Absolutely love it. Great little CPU.

What RAM are you using?

LOL are you ashamed to be running an E8500?

I have regular kingston GDDR2 800 ram. I have 2x2gb then i went with another 2x1gb for a total of 6gb ram. if i know then what i knew now i wouldve gotten better ram sticks =(

I saw some 1800mhz ram that i wanna get


p.s. i was running two champion onlines (my account and my bro's account) and the computer was working overtime, but never got about 62 C
__________________
Mobo: Asus P5N-D
CPU: Intel Core duo E8500 OC'd to 3.8GHZ
PS: 750w
GPU: ATI radeon HD5850
Ram: 6GB 800mhz (bah, need upgrades)
Xigmatek Dark Knight heat sink
case: aprevia X-discovery w/ 4 fans
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 04:41 AM   #37 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Nope just changed it to my company name instead ). I have it running at 4.65GHz so I'm not ashamed of anything!

2.1 volts for 800MHz is pretty high. Have you tried lowering it?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 02:12 PM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
Nope just changed it to my company name instead ). I have it running at 4.65GHz so I'm not ashamed of anything!

2.1 volts for 800MHz is pretty high. Have you tried lowering it?
no i didnt know it was high...what do you recommend for the voltage?
__________________
Mobo: Asus P5N-D
CPU: Intel Core duo E8500 OC'd to 3.8GHZ
PS: 750w
GPU: ATI radeon HD5850
Ram: 6GB 800mhz (bah, need upgrades)
Xigmatek Dark Knight heat sink
case: aprevia X-discovery w/ 4 fans
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 06:10 PM   #39 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Average for non-EPP RAM is 1.8v. If it doesn't boot or is unstable keep bringing it up by .25v until it is.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 07:39 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
Average for non-EPP RAM is 1.8v. If it doesn't boot or is unstable keep bringing it up by .25v until it is.

hmm so far my computer seems stable..has only been off for a total of about 8 hrs since i overclocked it. but i'll bring it down to 2.0 just to be on the safe side then see if anything happens
__________________

__________________
Mobo: Asus P5N-D
CPU: Intel Core duo E8500 OC'd to 3.8GHZ
PS: 750w
GPU: ATI radeon HD5850
Ram: 6GB 800mhz (bah, need upgrades)
Xigmatek Dark Knight heat sink
case: aprevia X-discovery w/ 4 fans
soulofadra6on is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duel/Quad core processor support. NanoWarrior System Upgrades 4 10-11-2008 03:44 PM
Decent Gaming Processor? Mindcraze System Upgrades 2 09-25-2008 05:41 AM
Upgrading Processor and ram.. How much should I expect game performace to jump? stainer711 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-01-2008 11:33 PM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.