how do i overclock processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2009, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default how do i overclock processor?

title says it all..wondering how i would go about to overclock my processor? i have an intel duo E8500. I wanna know the process, pros/cons, how fast i can go, is there a big performance difference and if i'd need to invest in an aftermarket heat sink or not

much appreciate =)
__________________

soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

It would largely depend upon your motherboard and the bios options your given.

An aftermarket heatsink is alway preferable, but the stock heatsink can be used successfully sometimes.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

If you have a good motherboard that E8500 will OC pretty easily.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

hey, i have an Asus P5n-D

and upon the loading screen from what i saw (it loads to fast for me to slow down) it's bios revision 0801...not sure if i'm correct


mwave.com: ASUS P5N-D nvidia nforce 750i sli chipset ATX form factor 2xPCI-E(x16)/2xPCI-E(x1)/2xpci/4xddr2 w/sata2 raid,lan(gb),1394,usb 2.0 & audio (cpu type:intel - socket 775)
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-17-2009, 01:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

i entered a set up menu when the computer was booting up and saw something that had the name "jumper" in it..and it was giving me options for overclocking..i guess that's where i do it?
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,667
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

To overclock your processor go into the BIOS (usually by pressing delete or F2 at boot).

Then from there, look for the area which will let you manually make changes to the settings, e.g. cpu frequency, fsb, multipliers, etc. If you see all those things you know you're in the right area. BE CAREFUL, don't just muck around there, you can damage your hardware.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 01:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
To overclock your processor go into the BIOS (usually by pressing delete or F2 at boot).

Then from there, look for the area which will let you manually make changes to the settings, e.g. cpu frequency, fsb, multipliers, etc. If you see all those things you know you're in the right area. BE CAREFUL, don't just muck around there, you can damage your hardware.

what would be acceptable parameters to overclock my E8500? i currently have a 750w PSU
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 06:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,667
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- P5N-D E8500 OVERCLOCK PROBLEMS

Take a look at that thread. Use the settings in the 2nd post, but as mentioned don't put the vcore so high, try and keep it at or below 1.36v
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 12:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
soulofadra6on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- P5N-D E8500 OVERCLOCK PROBLEMS

Take a look at that thread. Use the settings in the 2nd post, but as mentioned don't put the vcore so high, try and keep it at or below 1.36v
awesome thanks alot! before i overclock would you recommend getting an aftermarket heat sink? if so..any you would recommend for a moderate price? and anything i would most likely need like that gray paste?

also, my case comes with a temp. gauge, and the guy who helped me build my first computer put the receiver filament (dont know what it's called) in between the processor and the stock heatsink..is that the correct position to put it? because it hasnt really worked (or my cpu is running REALLY cool)

edit again, this is the case i have..dont know if any heatsinks will fit in it
mwave.com: APEVIA X-DISCOVERY (black) mid tower no power supply 4x5.25 2x3.5 4x3.5(hidden) w/ see through side windowfront USB connector & 120mm case fan x 1
soulofadra6on is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 04:24 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: how do i overclock processor?

The only need for getting an aftermarket heatsink is if you plan on pushing your processor further than you can with the stock. If your goal is to get just a little extra speed out of that E8500 then don't bother.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duel/Quad core processor support. NanoWarrior System Upgrades 4 10-11-2008 03:44 PM
Decent Gaming Processor? Mindcraze System Upgrades 2 09-25-2008 05:41 AM
Upgrading Processor and ram.. How much should I expect game performace to jump? stainer711 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-01-2008 11:33 PM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.