How do I overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2008, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default How do I overclock?

Ok I am toaly new to this overclocking this but I cant get SLI to work for me at all and I have 2 cards so im trying overclocking.

I got the nividia nTune and I dont know what to do now.


The higlighted tools are what I got


I found this menu



I tried changing the values to this (not knowing what im doing) and my PC crashed to a blue screen : /



What do I do?
__________________

Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: How do I overclock?

are u asking how to overclock your video card, your cpu or both?
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default

video card... My cpu is 3.0 ghz dul core I think that enough right.

can no one help me here?

I need better performance in oblivion. (My fav game)
or get SLI to work in that game...

someone has to know this. it keeps carshing to a blue screen then my pc crashes when ever I change the clock speed or w/e
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do I overclock?

first get rivatuner
RivaTuner v2.11 download from Guru3D.com
then when you do that we'll show how to oc it.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: How do I overclock?

ok got it

whats next?
thanks BTW
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do I overclock?

Read

Vaguetech - Rivatuner v2.07-11 Guide

follow those pics. It will be easier than me trying to explain what button to hit. Once you get to the third picture, thats where you will begin to overclock. First click on the fan tab. Let me know when you get there.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: How do I overclock?

ok well that dosetn seem to describe to me why my PC crashed and how high I should set the clock speed or what that even means etc. etc.
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do I overclock?

do you want me to help you or not?

did you see my edited post above yours
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: How do I overclock?

ok ok I idnt see you edited it ill tell you when im their

should I download that vista help patch it recommends?
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do I overclock?

no. just follow the pics

btw your computer specs would help. What card are you running?
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclock build. eggcream Overclocking and Modding 4 05-28-2008 12:34 PM
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.