How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2011, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Hey, I have 2 ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 graphics cards configured in crossfire. I was playing Crysis 2 earlier and getting 109 degrees centigrade, and idling at around 70 degrees. I've done a fair bit of research today but I can't find anything conclusive. My GPU fans seem to be stuck at 30% in the default settings. Is there anyway or any program that will allow me to manually change this?

Thanks.

Calidar
__________________

calidar is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

1. Open up Catalyst Control Center.
2. Navigate to "AMD Overdrive" This is usually a sub-category under "Gaming Performance".
3. Click on the picture of a pad lock to unlock AMD Overdrive settings.
4. Check the box "Manual Fan Control"
5. Drag the slider to your preferred fan speed.

Edit: Here is a picture
The red box is the lock that you need to click to unlock manual controls.
The blue box is the box you check to control manual fan speed.

Right click image and select "View Image" for a larger image.
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Yeah I'd read about that but my CCC doesn't have an overdrive part. It's completely up to date so I don't know why. Could it be something to do with my card model? I don't think I have a gaming performance section either. If I do I can't find it.

Thanks.

Calidar
calidar is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

|MG| MSI Afterburner 2.1.0 Download
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

I can only change the core clock and the memory clock. This is the screenshot.

http://img13.imageshack.us/f/unledmae.png/
calidar is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 11:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
aikbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 174
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Try using RivaTuner. If that doesn't work, try uninstalling your drivers with DriverSweeper, then reinstall them.
__________________
aikbix is offline  
Old 05-01-2011, 06:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Yeah I've already tried RivaTuner. Didn't work so im trying driversweeper now.

Calidar
calidar is offline  
Old 05-01-2011, 08:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
aikbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 174
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Quote:
Originally Posted by calidar View Post
Yeah I've already tried RivaTuner. Didn't work so im trying driversweeper now.

Calidar
I find it odd that a range of software is not working out for you. Tell us how driversweeper works out.
__________________
aikbix is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 04:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Some cards you just can not control the fan, my Sapphire ATI 3850 is one of those cards, only RivaTuner can control it, and even then it has issues keeping it at the same speed.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 05:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: How do I manually change fan speeds in the catalyst control centre?

Yeah i've been reading around alot and it turns out its nigh impossible to overclock/change fan speeds when the cards are in crossfire.

Thanks for the help anyway guys.

Calidar
__________________

calidar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my Catalyst Control Center messed up? IPlayFPS Microsoft Windows and Software 28 03-26-2010 01:40 AM
ATI catalyst control center HELP karshtakavaar Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-03-2009 07:22 AM
ATI Catalyst Control Center Gone Wild? Seiken Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-25-2006 09:10 PM
Manually change your boot screen Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-25-2005 05:20 PM
ATI Catalyst Control Ctr. Error! YanBooth Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 12-25-2004 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.