How do I know if I have overclock too much - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2004, 06:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default How do I know if I have overclock too much

How do I know if I have overclock a video card too much? I don't want it to destroy my video card so what syptems that I need to look for when you are overclocking a video card too much?

Thanks
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

You will see artefacts, little flickers and dark patches, followed by system crashing if you crank it up to high. To be honest, unless you start playing with higher voltages, you are unlikely to damage the card through overclocking, you will just get unstable performance.

Keep an eye on the temperature as well, that will creep up a little with the higher clock speeds.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Always do a little research on the card you currently own before overclocking. Use other people's experiences as guidelines to how far you can overclock your graphics card.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

see if u can get a temperature sensor in there since it prob dosent already have one
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

how do I check the Video Card Temp?
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

control panel > display > settings > advanced, and there should be a tab there dislaying the temp. at least ATI does
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

I can't find it On my Nvidia 5900 XT BFG Overcloacked Edtion Graghic Card Settings and even in the liveing room computer that has a Radeon 9800 Pro doesent have the setting your directing me to... So is there any way to with a Nvidia Card?
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I have yet to come across an ATI card that has default drivers that display the temperature within Advanced Display Options.

I would rely on the manufacturer of your card to provide a VGA probe utility to monitor your VGA temperature.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

how do you access that?
compy is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 08:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Well the reason why you can't find the temps on the cards that were shipped out prior to the x800's was because all the drivers made for the 9800xt were like.. 3.8v or something... I think they did the temp thing around 4.2, so that's why.. you just have to update
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.