How do I adjust RAM speed? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 08:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

hey i adjusted my cpu frequency to 10x (200Mhz x 10 = 2.01Ghz). That's ok right?
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:26 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

an AMD64 3000+ stock processor speed is 1.8GHz, multi of 9 was correct the first time. The 3200+ is 2GHz.........but the multis are locked on the regulard AMD64's except for lowering it, so I don't know how it would even work for you when raising the multi to 10.......you're positive it didn't default back down to 9 when you set it at 10 and it's actually still working at 1.8GHz?

If it's running 2GHz then you've got it OC'd
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

lol it's running at 2.0Ghz although i did notice my performance isn't smooth. it is working though. i just don't understand why it was 2.01ghz without being overclocked with the 1.02 bios. btw, i ordered the platinum revs today! woohoo!
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

cause you said previously it was up at 220 and 220x9 = 1.980GHz
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:25 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

no, previously it was at 220x4=880MHz and it wouldn't boot. i instantly lowered the 220 to 200 and raised the 4x to 9x.
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:27 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

is 220 overclocking the fsb though? i thought its default was 200.
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:33 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
yeah you can get the CPU up to 250, but not with your stock multiplier.....on a good OC'ing mobo you COULD technically raise the RAM seperate from the CPU but that'd be pointless, you'd just be creating a system bottleneck.

Lower your CPU's multi, then raise the FSB by increments of 5MHz.......so 205...then 210..each time booting into windows. Then run prime95 and let it run for 5 mins.....if it doesn't error then boost it up another 5 MHz......keep doing that until prime95 fails quickly at which time I'll need to boost your voltages.

I'd let that ram burn in in your system for about a week though before you start overclocking. Give it time to heat up and want to OC.

stock for that ram will be 2-2-2-5 at 2.6v

What is your current voltage max? Lets assume it's 2.8.....change your timings to 2.5-3-3-7 and raise your voltage to 2.8, this will assure you have lots of headroom to OC that RAM and you can raise the FSB and basically check on your CPU.

Once you get to like 225MHz and your CPU and RAM are running 1:1 run prime95 for +12 hours with the large in place FFT's mode, this will test the CPU primarly.

Run memtest86+ for a few hours letting it loop, if that doesn't error your RAM is good to go.

Then play an intensive game for a couple hours and that'll basically really seal the deal your system is stable
one question about that underlined part....can i just start at 2.8v and 2.5-3-3-7 or do i have to start from the very beginning in 5Mhz increments. if i already know that i'll have to change the stuff to 2.5-3-3-7, why not do it at the beginning? is it because the RAM has to overclock slowly?
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:56 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
is 220 overclocking the fsb though? i thought its default was 200
Well yeah, if 200 is stock and it's raised beyond that, that'd be considered OC'ing.

Quote:
one question about that underlined part....can i just start at 2.8v and 2.5-3-3-7 or do i have to start from the very beginning in 5Mhz increments.
That underlined part says nothing of the frequency, the frequency is what you move in 5MHz increments, you always start at stock speeds and move up from that, but I'm saying bump the voltage up to 2.8 and timings at 2.5-3-3-7 then start moving it up 5MHz at a time and chances are with the OCZ you can hit 235-250MHz or so before you'd need more voltage or looser timings (shouldn't need looser timings though)

In all honesty I don't know what you're asking "can I start from the beginning"

bump the voltage and loosen the timings before you start overclocking, that's what I suggested...then from there raise the frequency slowly
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:00 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

oh i get it now. i thought you meant start bumping the fsb frequency up, then after i reach the limit of stability to bump voltage and adjust timings. i had them flip-flopped. my bad.
bobafett573 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

500+ MHz you say?.. No way man. That's just nuts. Are u thinking "500 MHz" in terms of effective "clock rate"?

Frikkin DDR. I don't know what kindda nutjob started this convention. So retarded. The guy who came up this "effective rate" crap needs to be stoned :-\..
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.