how do even overclock to begin with? I'm a big noob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Default how do even overclock to begin with? I'm a big noob

Like if you open a million limewire's, will that make the computer overclock? Or do you have to open up a program, then turn on the overclocking to allow the stuff to overclock? Help a noob out.
__________________

boogey is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: how do even overclock to begin with? I'm a big noob

O.o
Beginners Guides: Overclocking the CPU, Motherboard and Memory - PCSTATS.com

You go into the computer BIOS and carefully increase certain values (FSB, voltages) that can speed up your hardware. Your Front Side Bus (FSB) directly affects processor speed. It is the main thing you have to increase. Along with that is the CPU voltage, i.e. how much juice is being fed to the CPU. In order for it to run faster, it needs more juice (depending on how Much faster).
You have to be careful with voltages. I suggest reading a few overclocking guides to get a basic understanding.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Default Re: how do even overclock to begin with? I'm a big noob

Thanks, didn't even see that guide.

After reading that, I realize I don't do anything to have to overclock my computer. Other then 3dMarks and stuff like that to show off to my brother. Might try overclocking my computer I'll build, for ****'s and giggles.
boogey is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: how do even overclock to begin with? I'm a big noob

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogey View Post
Thanks, didn't even see that guide.

After reading that, I realize I don't do anything to have to overclock my computer. Other then 3dMarks and stuff like that to show off to my brother. Might try overclocking my computer I'll build, for ****'s and giggles.
What's your computer's specs?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Default Re: how do even overclock to begin with? I'm a big noob

http://www.techist.com/forums/f75/

I have two threads about what I know I'm building. Just not sure which memory suits the os best.
boogey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Big Urgent Urgent Urgent Help Needed...plssssss krazyq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 25 12-28-2007 11:49 AM
Noob wants to loose (3rd party) XPpro + switch to Linux Jougukny Linux and Open Source 6 11-01-2007 02:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.