How did I do lads - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2007, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
The Zune Guy's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland (Come on 'd Paddys)
Posts: 167
Question How did I do lads

Okay lads, heres the deal. Have bought the following pc bits from 'ebuyer'.
-Intel core 2 duo E6320 (4mb cache, 1.86Ghz, Dual...(Ahh, check the specs))

-1Gb Kingston value ram (DDR2, PC2-4600) (Will upgrade later to 2gb)

-Mainboard is (Quote from site) an 'ECS P4M890T-M V1.0 Socket 775 Core 2 Duo Ready FSB1066 DDR2 Onboard VGA and Audio mATX - ECS P4M890T-M V1.0 Socket 775 Core 2 Duo Ready FSB1066 DDR2 Onboard VGA and Audio mATX'

-Some 15 case, the cheapest one with a side panel

-Antec Basik 500w PSU (Took ur advice and got a fairly decent one)

-I will be using an existing 320gb HDD and DVD+-RW

2 Q's, No.1, I'm assuming that using stock cooling I will be able to overclock the CPU (I know, only 7x Multiplier, but I think its got to be better than 4300) Any idea how good this board is?
No. 2, I will be getting a 8800gts (PNY ALR8), the PSU will support it I hope

Oh, and it cost me only 200, not bad, with my 'TINY' budget:

The Zune Guy is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How did I do lads

ECS....I'm not sure on their reputation on motherboards, but I rarely hear about them. You can overclock on stock cooling, but not that far. Probably 2.5-2.7GHz....and you have value ram, which might hold you back some more, when overclocking.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: How did I do lads

Elitegroup Computer Systems - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
zmatt's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How did I do lads

well I don't know about their boards but the GQ brand computers are nightmares from what I have heard.

<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.