How Cold is too Cold for a CPU...if it can be too cold? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 07:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

dang you guys are keeping cold cpu's. stock p4 heat sinks don't cut it guess. my p4 ht running at 2.6-2.8 (2.6 is un oc'd) runs at between 47-52*C.

in theory theroy keeping a cpu too cold is bad for performance. remember, your comptuer uses conductors to transmit electric pulses, for electricity to flow electorns must be able to move freely inside the conductive material. as temps are lowered there is less molecular movement which translates into the electrons not being able to move as freely, thus resulting in higher resistance within the conductor.

keep in mind that is all in molecular theory, not in practice. at the temps we are talking about you probably won't see a diff. running cold vs. warm
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to t3rk1sh
Default

how about running in the winter with windows open... just an idea, i do it regardless, but i need to start OC'in in the winter months :P
__________________

t3rk1sh is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 09:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

lol .. not too close to the window ..i could see it now ... a nice geometric snow flake flying in your window ... and falling on the motherboard..shorting god knows what out .. but i could see that work well ..(the cold air that is)
ninetynine is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 09:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to t3rk1sh
Default

ya hehe screens on to prevent a way ward flake.... ill have to test it out this winter
t3rk1sh is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 10:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
What are you using to cool it Musjunk22?
Don't luagh but...dum dum dum....My window air conditioner. My parents started complaining about the electric bill so i had to bring it back down to somewhat normal speeds. Then I lapped my hs and lossed 5-7 degrees, ow it stays at 21C idle and 34C load @ 3.12GHz
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 01:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

What kind of air conditioner, because most air conditioners are based off water vapor to produce cold air and I don't know if I like the idea of that going into my computer =/ but I guess it's working thus far
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 12:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to lbreevesii
Default

what can i really do short of water cooling to bring my temps down? i'm running a large 10 bay case(chefitec/antec) a total of 7 or 8 fans including the cpu fan and the ones in the power supply. my heat sink(stock P4) has the intel "pad" on it, as well as some good thermal grease. and i'm still running at just under 50*C. what should i do? i don't want to add noise if i can help it. keep in mind though, i don't know how accurate my mobo temp sensors are. i don't really have any other way of measuring the temps. if i ever do manage to get a fan controller, where should my thermocouple go to get the most accurate readings?
__________________
AMD 64 3800+
ABIT AN8-SLI
X-connect 500W psu
1.5gb RAM
etc etc

Custom Quake box under planning and soon to be under construction
lbreevesii is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 04:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

Take the pad off of your CPU and put Arctic Silver5 on it. Youll see a diff there. For temps you can use Mobo Monitor5.
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 04:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
has the intel "pad" on it, as well as some good thermal grease.
You NEVER put grease ontop of a thermal pad man. That's an absolute no no. If you read any directions of applying compound it'll tell you DO NOT put compound on an existing thermal pad. They aren't meant together. Do exactly like Fan boy said up there and scrape off the thermal pad if you want to use compound. That's why your temps are so high is it's got too much crap to go through for proper thermal conduction. Get some 99% isopropynol (rubbing alcohol) and use the edge of a credit card to safely remove that pad. You don't want to scratch up the bottom of your heatsink, and the alcohol will help to dissolve it a little. The alcohol REALLY works great on the grease, but will help a little with the pad.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I've had mine down to 0 C in the winter months here in Oswego. Although thats on the system monitor, so it was probly lower.
Windows were wide open, and I had my coat on, hehe, nothing like bringing winter inside.
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.