How can I move my computer to a new case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default How can I move my computer to a new case?

My computer is great in every way except one, it has a really small case. I want to move my whole computer into a new case (probably an ATX Mid Tower Case w/400 watt Power Supply sold at http://www.cyberguys.com/templates/s...05&child=1sc05 The problem is I have no idea what to do. I'm not sure if it has a hole in the back for all of the ports on my motherboard, and I'm not sure if the power supply that it includes will work with all of my hardware. Also I have no idea how to actually move all of my components into the new case. Can anybody help me?
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Take the back panel from the old case and transfer it into the new one.

Also you can get a better case than that for that kind of money off of newegg.com

like this one....
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811213004

EDIT: I just realized that you have an EMACHINE...... You most likely cannot transfer it. The mobo might be a Micro ATX, and is probably compatible, but the back panel is nontransferable.... Sorry. you can still do it, but it will be a half a$$ job.
__________________

uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

How hard will it be to take off the back pannel of my old case, and what can I do if my new case is a new hight/width?
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

you would probably have to take a dremel to it, and cut it off the old case. I am pretty sure that retail computers like that have the panel intregrated into the case.

But if it is not intregrated, than you might be able to do it. Just dont buy anything yet.
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.