How Am I Doing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 07:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Default How Am I Doing?

I Just Started Overclocking My Ram And CPU i just want some suggestions on how im doing...

Thanx.

__________________

__________________
System

Processor :: AMD Athlon 64bit 4000+ @ 2.6Ghz (Custom Danger Den Water Cooling)
Memory :: 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000 @250Mhz (3-3-3-8)
Video :: Evga 7900 GTX 512MB Superclocked 700/1800
Motherboard :: LanParty UT nF4 SLI-D
Hard Drive :: 200Gb Western Digital Hardrive
Power Supply :: PC Power & Cooling 510 SLI ready
Case :: Lian Li PC-6070APLUS
Sound Card :: Sound Blaster Audigy 2
OS :: Windows XP Pro x64
SuicideMayne is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Well we really need more information, and you personally have to stress testing this every time you bump up the speed...that still has a little ways left to go though, my guess is maybe 2.8ish
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Default

Its at 2.6V

and i did stress test and i got no errors..

and if i do bumb to 2.8V i get errors..

i was just wondering is its a good overclock..
__________________
System

Processor :: AMD Athlon 64bit 4000+ @ 2.6Ghz (Custom Danger Den Water Cooling)
Memory :: 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000 @250Mhz (3-3-3-8)
Video :: Evga 7900 GTX 512MB Superclocked 700/1800
Motherboard :: LanParty UT nF4 SLI-D
Hard Drive :: 200Gb Western Digital Hardrive
Power Supply :: PC Power & Cooling 510 SLI ready
Case :: Lian Li PC-6070APLUS
Sound Card :: Sound Blaster Audigy 2
OS :: Windows XP Pro x64
SuicideMayne is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

2.6V???? That is impossible.... Unless you mean 2.6Ghz, but try using RAM dividers or upping the Vcore slightly, and is that the idle temps? If so then please be carefull that is rather warm for idle....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Default

yea my ram is only at 2.6V it does not like high voltage...

This ram is a beast!!

but yea thats a idle temp ima get liquid cooling again soon tho.
__________________
System

Processor :: AMD Athlon 64bit 4000+ @ 2.6Ghz (Custom Danger Den Water Cooling)
Memory :: 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000 @250Mhz (3-3-3-8)
Video :: Evga 7900 GTX 512MB Superclocked 700/1800
Motherboard :: LanParty UT nF4 SLI-D
Hard Drive :: 200Gb Western Digital Hardrive
Power Supply :: PC Power & Cooling 510 SLI ready
Case :: Lian Li PC-6070APLUS
Sound Card :: Sound Blaster Audigy 2
OS :: Windows XP Pro x64
SuicideMayne is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You have room to increase vcore, so you should be able to get a bit more out of the CPU. You may just need to start using a mem divider if you RAM is capping at 260.

I probably wouldn't loosen timings any more than they are, so that would mean the only way to get higher RAM speed would to be increasing vdimm, but if it really doesn't like more than 2.6 vdimm (which seems odd), just put a divider on it and try to pump a little more out of the CPU.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

can't you change the voltage of the ram a little less than .2V? I mean, maybe you should try 2.65V instead of jumping to 2.8V. Just a thought.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
2.6V???? That is impossible.... Unless you mean 2.6Ghz, but try using RAM dividers or upping the Vcore slightly, and is that the idle temps? If so then please be carefull that is rather warm for idle....
the motherboard temp is warm or the cpu temp is warm?

b/c my 3700+ non overclocked runs at 37 C idle.

Also, what is the aux temperature that the program has, its under cpu temperature (u cant see on that picture its covered). B/c when i run the program, it gives me 13C aux temp, and i dunno anything in the computer that would be at 13C.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 09:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

any1?
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.