How to Allocate System resources quad core processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2007, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

Ok I have tried everything but I just can't figure this out.

I have an Intel Xeon Dual Core Quad Core server running server 2003. I have a program called Camtasia and others that I use for video. Whenever I process the files it only utilizes 24% of my processing power. Another program I use is Sorenson Squeeze and while that is processing it only uses 2% CPU power. <--- this program takes upwards of 4 hours to process my videos. I really want to know if there is some kind of program that I can allocate my processing power to take advantage of certain programs. 4 hours could turn into 10 minutes if I can allocate these stupid processors.

I tried using Windows System Resource Manager but for some reason that doesn't work either.

Can anybody give me some advice as to what software will allow me to dedicate my power.

Thanks guys,

Creed
__________________

Creedance is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

It sounds like something else has higher priority in the process manager. You can manually edit the priorities....

press ctrl alt delete and go to the task manager, try setting the program you want the CPU to work for to high priority.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

I tried that and that does absolutely nothing. Still running at 25% and 2%
Creedance is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

Just because you have multiple cores doesnt mean that all programs are going to use those cores. LOTS and i do mean lots of programs are single threaded meaning that you could have 100 cores and it wont speed anything up. Also, if one core is using 25% and the other is using 2% forcing them both to use 27/2= 14% wouldnt speed anything up. Programs are just now getting around to actually being multithreaded to take advantage of extra cores.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 06:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

I would think a video editing program would be multithreaded though.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

Ya but if it was, then he would have one core pegged out at 100% rather than one core at 25% and the other at 2%. Obviously the program is bottlenecked somewhere else.

As an example, when i start world of warcraft, the affinity is always set to core 0 and 1, and it pegs out core 0 usually, but if i go and set the affinity to all 4 cores, core 0 drops down to about 50% and the other 3 cores come up.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

is um............ 3dmark use all cores? Like when it does the cpu test. It seems like it does because all my cpu goes to 100% when I run 3d mark and during its cpu test.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 03:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How to Allocate System resources quad core processors

I would assume so. I just upped mine to 3.8ghz and it crashed in 3dmark06 when it got to the cpu test so its a good bet.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quad core or not (again) Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 40 10-10-2007 09:07 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.