How accurate is it?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2006, 09:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default How accurate is it??

Hey Guys!
I just have a simple question: How accurate is the FRAPS program that people use to monitor their Frames Per Second during gameplay?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

I would say its dead on.
__________________

__________________
cedjunior is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

extremely close, aside from the fact it doesn't use decimals. of course it does slightly alter the reading just by the fact that it takes system resources but it would be virtually unnoticeable. why do you ask?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

I was just wondering because when I play Americas Army my fps are anywheres from 35 to 400, that is with "stat fps" in game FPS checker... but when I use FRAPS i am almost always around 60-80
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 221
Default

*Shudders*

America's Army?

You could do better for a free FPS. Wolfenstein, for example.

Plus, AA comes with free army propaganda...
__________________
2.4 GHz Pentium 4
Harman/Kardon 2.1
256 MB RAM
Dell 1800FP
GeForce FX 5200
CD Burner and CD Reader!
Gerry_W is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 03:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

...... Americas Army is cool... and its free, but yeah FRAPS, dead on
__________________
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Fraps is a good program. If you look at all the reading you got, FRAPS makes the most sense...60-80 instead of 35-400. That would be a rather large jump.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 02:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

fraps seems dead on to me. It's almost always dead on with my cs readings
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Lol on css i always have 30-120 fps, but on fraps i have a steady 50 fps and sometimes 40ish
__________________

__________________
alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.