Home Entertainment cum Security System PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Default Home Entertainment cum Security System PC

Hi everybody,

I hope you nice guys out there can give me some advice on the pc which I plan to put together, with the following purposes in mind:

(1) As my PC-based Digital Video Recorder
- to record TV programs when I'm out;
(2) As heart of my Internet-based CCTV Surveillance System


(A) I do not need tip-top graphics on my pc monitor as I do not play games (That's why I have chosen a low-end graphic card).

(B) Neither do I plan to watch TV (recorded or otherwise) on my PC. Instead, I plan stream it to my TV set in another part of my house via Hauppauge's MediaMVP (smw.internet.com/yours/reviews/mvp/).

(C) I do plan to overclock in the future.

The system I have in mind:
Motherboard: DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-D
Processor: AMD Athlon64 3000+
Memory: Corsair XMZ Xpert TwinXP102403200XL
Graphic Card: GeCube ATI Radeon X300/256MB
PSU: Enermax 480W Coolergiant
Hard Drives: Seagate 200GB Baracuda 7200 rpm/SATA NCQ
TV Tuner Card: Hauppauge WinTV PVR350

Any advice will be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
__________________

Sevenor is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Oay, since you don't want a powerful VCARD, you don't need a board supporting SLI. By looking at this option, you can loose DFI as a MB manufacturer option.

Second, if you are going to be manipulating video (which you will with survelience and cable tv programs), you are going to want a more powerful CPU.

If you feel like an Athlon64, then probably look at the 3200+ in 939. The 1MB Cache will benefiet you greatly for what you want to do.

Finally, instead of one stick of a Gig of ram, get two 512's, and utilize socket 939's Dual Channel to get better performance from the system.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

IMO

AMD isn't a good choice here for what you wanna do with this PC. You could probably build this system for less then $1000 USD. I would go with an Intel 3.2GHz 540 LGA775. Look for a MSI or ASUS MOBO - Grab a set of (2x512MB) DDR400, a Seagate 250GIG HDD, Pick up a high-end PVR card... There's a really nice case i saw the other day... let me see if i can find it...

http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16811126138
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Any Intel chip would beat an AMD chip when dealing with video for now i think....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

meh, amd costs a lot less and the difference isn't that great at all
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I'm not going to argue CPU types here, but make sure to get Dual Channel Ram!
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Default

Thanks guys for all your inputs.

I think I'll go for the AMD (Socket 939) platform bcos
(a) I want to be able to run 64-bit applications in the future;
(b) I like its Cool N Quiet feature;
(c) I like the extra protection against virus that its No Execute feature affords.


I definitely want to overclock my pc in the future. I agree that since I don't game I may not need a SLI-ed mobo. Then how about the DFI UT nF4 Ultra-D mobo?

The reasons I like to stick to DFI mobos cos from what I gathered they are overclockers friendly (Correct?) plus I like how they glow under UV light.


Yes, I do plan to make use of the dual channel memory interface using one matched pair RAM of 256 or 512MB. But is my choice of RAM (the Corsair I listed) good for overclocking? I like the LED display of this memory but I'm prepared to let it go if it's not as good as those from say G Skill or OCZ RAMs that I read on the forum.

Can somebody recommend me some good low/mid-end graphics cards also.

Thanks so much!
__________________

Sevenor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.