hmm why am i bothering with my fx 60 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 07:29 AM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

w00t....have fun OCing that...which Conroe?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 08:24 AM   #22 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i would personally wait like a month for a quad core... how much you want for your cpu and/or mem ? what is the ddr clock speed on that ram? pm me!! plz!!!
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 09:53 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i'm trying, but i do not see the purpose of this upgrade.

imo, save the money and by the short time now that quad's will be out, you will have a pure top of the line processor.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 10:21 AM   #24 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yea i guess i will wait a bit. I see they are supposed to come out in november. Will they use the same socket as core 2,, 775?
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 10:18 AM   #25 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i see no reason to wait a month for quad unless he really wants to spend alot, because from what ive read only one quad is coming out this year and its going to cost over 1000 bucks. i think if he upgraded to conroe he would be alot happier with his system and he would see a great diffrence in his gaming. and the parts he choose are badass i hope you enjoy it man
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 02:13 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Actually I've heard as far as pricing goes they won't be all $1,000. From what i've heard they won't be cheap, but mos def not all around a grand. It will bump down the currect core 2's, which will be very nice, considering you already get ALOT for what you pay for, ESPECIALLY if you OC.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:23 AM   #27 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
i see no reason to wait a month for quad unless he really wants to spend alot, because from what ive read only one quad is coming out this year and its going to cost over 1000 bucks. i think if he upgraded to conroe he would be alot happier with his system and he would see a great diffrence in his gaming. and the parts he choose are badass i hope you enjoy it man
considering he has a fx-60 ($1000), and just got done w/ a phase change cooling system ($1700)... i'm thinking he doesnt mind dropping a grand on a cpu, or cooling it for that matter! ...

he's already got probably like $3-4 G's in it right now... its hard to stop once you start.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:33 AM   #28 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yea it is hard, I sold a few routers and now the money is burning a hole in my pocket.
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.