Hmm is this good.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2005, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Hmm is this good....

Well this is realy the first machine i have bothered to OC, just because i wanted a faster computer. But is this good for my computer? http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=5021


NOTE: On that page the FSB should be HTT like on the actual program, and the Bus Speed shouldnt even be there.... But its all correct -.-
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

yea not bad for that chip. wat temps have u got and on wat cooling have u dun that on?
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

89F under a light load which i consider just useing the net and like 5 IM convos, and under a heavy load around 115F, and its with the Stock heatsink fan.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

89F/31C - 115F/46C

Those temps are fine.

Stock is 1.8GHz right? Not a bad overclock at all and your temps are fine I'm sure you could go further.

What kind of RAM you got? If you had some good RAM like G.Skill, OCZ platinum Rev2, PQI Turbo, or Patriot XBLs you could have them follow that HTT up to 250 and have a damn nice and fast system
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

My HTT is 250, which sadly is my MAX since 251 cause's my system to completly lock and overheat. Plus i have realy crappy ram, go to the site listed and look around it also list's my ram.

And yes the stock speed is 1800Mhz
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol yeah, definitely not gonna be OC'ing those sticks to 250 HTT
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

yea, i bought 256 one month and waited 3 more months till i had the money to get another stick. Sadly this ram is more than 2 years old, was in my first system, was gonna get some Hyper X ram for this current system but i dont have another $300.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

There's a lot better RAM than HyperX

Corsair XML is better IMO, but even then, those other RAM companies I listed are far better than corsair for OC'ing high FSBs especially.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article.php?aid=53

Theres some good reading
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Well MSI recomends that kind of memory for my system.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Damn, nice oc. If you bought a zalman cooler or something you could possibly hit 2.4
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.