Hits POST and restarts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 03:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Hits POST and restarts

I have just built a new computer with the Intel 660 P4. My problem has something to do with the mobo or processor. I am just looking for some general Ideas on why the system would restart during the POST. Here is the scenario: I have disconnected all drives, HDD/CD/DVD/etc, and all nonessentials. I am just trying to get to the bios. The reset button is not connected and I have manually started the system with a screwdriver. I have uninstalled the board and placed it on some cardboard to check for grounding issues, not it. The ram & video card have been tested on another system and work. Everything is compatible so says the manufacturer. So, in a case that everything was done correctly and is compatible, what would you think could cause this?

The POST displays as follows: (brief description; If the processor was bad do you think it would read it?)

Intel P4 xxxxxxx [ENABLED]
Ram 4xxxxxxxxxxxx OK

Restarts here…over and over…
Thanks Guys!
__________________

jewest is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default

I'm no expert but maybe the bios is corrupt - try and install an updated version - should be available online with the instruction on how to do it.
__________________

duncan is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Try and replacing the RAM with one stick only. If you have another confuser with the same RAM, try one of those. Have you checked all of your jumper settings to make sure they are all at default setting? Also try keeping all of the BIOS settings at default.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I would reset the BIOS CMOS chip first. Remove the battery for a minute or so and try again.

If it still doesn't work, try shifting RAM modules to other DIMM slots. Alos, try just using one RAM stick if you have multiple, and alternate.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Yes, try to reset the CMOS, should set everything back to orig settings.. then I don't know what to do
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check your heatsinks/fans. Something might be getting to hot.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Check your heatsinks/fans. Something might be getting to hot.
...In that case, wouldn't the system just turn off...???
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

No, it could keep on trying to get into windows... or since no HD, just keep trying to get through BIOS
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

okay guys I reset the CMOS and there were no changes. It is not getting far enough into POST to boot from anything e.g. floppy, hdd, cd. I swappend mobos, ram, and video cards again today. I am going to try the Majors plan above and replace the heatsink/cpu fan. I called intel today and spoke with a technician. He said since it is throwing errors (beeps) when something is not connected the processor appears to be normal. What is going on?
So far I have tested three mobos, video cards, and types of ram. If anybody lives in houston and has a working socket 775 box, I will pay you $100 to test my CPU! I doubt there are any takers.. but it's worth a try...
jewest is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

If you have swapped the motherboards and all other parts it sounds like its the CPU gone bad....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.