Hit 2.4 on 3000+ Venice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default Hit 2.4 on 3000+ Venice

Well, I got my new motherboard in and hit 2.4 ghz on my Athlon 64 3000+ Venice. The stupid thing hit a wall, but I feel like it hit the wall waaay too early. I was wondering what kind of experiences people have had with voltage. Anyone ever fried one? Anyone know anyone else who may have fried the memory controller? I heard that 1.6V was a little too much for it to be pretty much 99.9% safe.

I'm also concerned that my power supply isn't consistant enough to give me stable voltage. I'm thinking that if I got a more reliable power supply, I'll be able to take it further. What kind of a percentage should the voltage be fluctuationg to under a GOOD power supply conditions?

This is my current power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171007

Thanks for any replies.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well actually i dont belive 1.6v will fry it maybe 1.7, my brother has his 3000 venice 939 at 2.7ghz with 1.6v, and its perfectly stable. but 2.4 is good, look at it this way your beating a 3700. which cost 200+$ so either way you extended your dollar...
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The venices take voltage pretty well, you cant give it TO much, but 1.6v would be fine. Also, your PSU is pretty crappy, if you are interested, I am selling a very nice PSU, check my sig.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I monitored prime95 and CPU-Z at the same time. When the voltages dip to the low end of the spectrum, 1.504V, the error pops up. It's like a temporary voltage change that's drastic enough to make the error occur. It also goes up to 1.600V at the peak of the change.

Oh, and burned-ati, 2.4ghz is the speed of a 3800+, but thanks for the credit anyway.

And 95 bucks is WAY out of my price range. Maybe a 50 or 60 dollar fortron or Antec might be a possibility.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

fortron psu's are very stable... i have cpu voltage to 1.55v in the bios and under load, i watch the voltages, and that **** is 1.54-1.56v always.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 03:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

PZEROFGH's link in Nubius's sticky gives a great link to suggested voltages: http://users.erols.com/chare/elec.htm

Anyways, I have a venice also and from what I've read, the venice can handle a lot of power without frying (granted you watch the temps). The stock voltage for our venice's is around 1.4-1.5 but I've had mine up to and above 1.7v (the highest my mobo will allow it) without any problems. I don't leave it there 24/7 but when I'm doing benchmarks it is just fine. Always remember, no matter what your cooling situation is and no matter how low your temps are, increasing voltage will always decrease the life. If you upgrade your CPU every year or so you probably will never even notice the wear it has on it so I don't worry about it too much.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.