His 2900pro - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2007, 01:25 AM   #41 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: His 2900pro

See what happens when you buy a ATi card.... . Just kidding.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 01:38 AM   #42 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: His 2900pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
See what happens when you buy a ATi card.... . Just kidding.
all he needs to do is get the latest drivers n updates then BOOM he will be running his 2900 Pro in Vista fine.

i get ur joke too lol.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 02:41 AM   #43 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

welp, i got my thing configured oc'd it to 851/1800, runs like a charm... ran 3dmark05 successfully, but can't get a score due to driver issues with the new catalayst.... i'll be back later.... and show you all how to oc a pro with 2 6 pin connectors

vista is driving me absolutely nuts... so i'm deleting it now.. and reinstalling vista... see ya'll in the morning

just finished installing xp.. thank god.. lets try for some benchmarks

bout to run the 06 at 800/1800
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 02:20 PM   #44 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

well on stock fx62 and with the settings above i scored a lil over 10,000.. not bad for an amd cpu... and pretty close to my overclocked 8800gts scored paired with a 3.6 ghz e6600.. i'm going to hit at least 11,000 tonite i know this for sure

time to get ati tool and take this card further

welp.. its time for work... and 3dmark05 certainly does not like the pro as i only got 16,000+ in it.. considering my x1950xtx did 14,000+ but again.. that was with a 3.6ghz e6600 and 2 gigs of ram... as apposed to me only having a 2.8 ghz fx62 and 1 gb ram... buhhh, new mobo problem and additional gig of ram should get me chugging around 12,000
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 11:58 PM   #45 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: His 2900pro

here is the adapter which you (and soon perhaps myself if i cant get ati tool to work right cos i hate it and you have to have the 8 pin to use rivatuner) seek:
6-Pin PCI Express to 8-Pin PCI Express 2 Adapter Cable - Sleeved Products Model: PCIE-PCIE2 [PCIE-PCIE2] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
there is also a program called AMD gpu tool that supposedly will overclock it no matter what power connector you have (2 x 6 pin or 8 pin pcie2).
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:00 AM   #46 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

you can use rivatuner and ati tool without the 8 pin!!!! lol just not CCC
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:03 AM   #47 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: His 2900pro

i read on an english forum (like UK english) that rivatuner was a no-go as well. which didnt make sense because how the H*** does rivatuner know how many pins are connected to my gpu???
that makes me happy. i heart rivatuner.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:06 AM   #48 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

lol okay well if rivatuner is a no go.. i can show you the paperclip trick.. its really easy
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:16 AM   #49 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: His 2900pro

paper clips + $300 graphics card = nervous nagasama.
i will try RT first, then i will try the AMD gpu tool (which i heard was really good), then i will try ATiTool (last resort). if i dont like the results of any of those, then i will buy one of the adapters.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:18 AM   #50 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

lol.. the last two clips have like no electrical value and add no voltage.. but i know what you mean...

anyway, ati tool works like a charm, i'd recommend that over amd gpu tool

and from what i'm reading on xs.. the pro bios may be better.. but i'll try the pro bios out tonite and do some benchies and find out if thats true
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800gts 320mb vs HD 2900pro levon11 System Upgrades 11 10-06-2007 04:21 AM
2900PRO is officially a VERY good performance card Vaanish New Systems | Building and Buying 40 09-28-2007 02:42 PM
2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!! gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 20 09-17-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.