His 2900pro - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2007, 01:21 PM   #31 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: His 2900pro

NosBoost300, i find ur sig kind of disturbing n cannot look away. That episode was kind a funny lol.

for the flash thing, since ur computer will read ur Pro as an XT, this does garanteed that ur Pro will run at same speeds as the XT n then u will be able to OC it more, right?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:37 PM   #32 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
NosBoost300, i find ur sig kind of disturbing n cannot look away. That episode was kind a funny lol.

for the flash thing, since ur computer will read ur Pro as an XT, this does garanteed that ur Pro will run at same speeds as the XT n then u will be able to OC it more, right?
thats what i'm trying to find out on xtreme systems right now, but those people don't seem to answer posts too often.. i guess they're too busy overclocking and such.... but it'll boot overclocked already (being 2900xt speeds) as for being able to overclock higher.. from what i read, it changes the timing on the ram to that of an xt... which i'm sure is better... and i'm not too sure, the main thing i'm trying to find out is if it changes the voltage on the card.. cuz if it does, then yes, it will overclock higher

hopefully the ups man gets here before 1:30 when i leave for work.. otherwise i don't get to play with my goods until 10:00pm tonite! and that would be no fun...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 10:27 PM   #33 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

welp the ******* ups man came right before i left for work.. so all i got to do was put the card in and install the drivers...

sadly, because i have no 8 pin connection for my gpu... i can not overclock it.. which is lame.. so imma do a little mod i found on xtreme systems whenever i can get around to it....

as for the bios.. i couldnt boot to my flash drive for some reason... so imma have to install that program and change its boot options and what not.... vista is not very friendly with the 2900pro at all... its given me a hard time for the short while i used it..

and with that said.. tonite i will be reinstalling windows xp onto my other hard drive and testing my gpu out on there... i may be back tonite with some benchmarks.. but that won't be until late night.. maybe around 1am (california time)

but i must say, that the card is a beast! its huge and weighs a good amount.... and the damned thermaltake armor case and its easy latches get in the way of having me be able to screw it down... so imma have to play around with that tonite when i get home as well...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 12:09 AM   #34 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: His 2900pro

So are you still working for that magazine publisher or whatnot?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 12:12 AM   #35 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
So are you still working for that magazine publisher or whatnot?
yup still doing some lame desktop publishing and production for Impress (a dumb print station in office max) but i think i'm going to be promoted to supervisor really soon, so yay to 15 dollars an hour at my young age of 19 very soon ... i'm looking forward to that....

but anyway.. its almost time to go home! i'll update what i've done fairly soon.. i'll be on the lappy as i do my progress
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 12:19 AM   #36 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: His 2900pro

They don't sell a 6 pin to 8 pin power adapter?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 12:30 AM   #37 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
They don't sell a 6 pin to 8 pin power adapter?
not that i've seen...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 12:36 AM   #38 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: His 2900pro

well thats bogus. Do they even make power supplies with 8 pin connectors on them?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 01:16 AM   #39 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: His 2900pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
well thats bogus. Do they even make power supplies with 8 pin connectors on them?
yes they do.. but i think only crossfire certified ones.. i do have an 8 pin.. but its for the mobo
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 01:19 AM   #40 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: His 2900pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
well thats bogus. Do they even make power supplies with 8 pin connectors on them?
there is n from what ive seen on newegg, the 700w-up have at least 1 8-pin connector.

i lucky found a cheap, good one. This one has 2 x 6-pin n 2 x 8-pin connectors, but the 8-pin connectors can be split apart to 6-pin, making the PSU have 4 x 6-pin connectors total:

Newegg.com - SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V / EPS12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC - Retail

this is what i want until have seen anything better and/or cheaper that meets my tastes .
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800gts 320mb vs HD 2900pro levon11 System Upgrades 11 10-06-2007 04:21 AM
2900PRO is officially a VERY good performance card Vaanish New Systems | Building and Buying 40 09-28-2007 02:42 PM
2900 PRO...with a 512-bit memory interface!!! gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 20 09-17-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.