highest voltage i should go? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2008, 11:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

well this OC is only for a short time until i buy my Q6600, take this as a practice OC xD, not bad got 3ghz stable, sort of, doesnt crash in cod4 for hours but fails in prime95 like 6-7 hours into it
__________________

lukas is offline  
Old 06-19-2008, 11:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

e2180 at 3.0ghz was childs play!!

when i first had mine, i booted it right up at 3.0ghz for its first breath of life.... played all my games, ran some f@h for a day.... and called it stable.. excellent chip!!!! well worth the money.. and then some

congrats on the oc
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 12:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

yea, I would be more impressed if it were a 3.8-4.0 clock
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

that would be close to a 2x oc, that would be quite hard to achieve for a cpu like that without a lot of voltage increase... :P
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
that would be close to a 2x oc, that would be quite hard to achieve for a cpu like that without a lot of voltage increase... :P
Nosboost is OC crazy so i think he'd be crazy enough to do it. anyways they're cheap great CPU's.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

it all depends on the VID... my e2200 should have been able to hit 3.0 without any voltage increase, but it wouldn't budge past 2.6 which was extremely depressing.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 03:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

could it have been ur mobo or psu?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 07:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

im guessing nosboost is like the nutter of this community and doesnt care if he frys/breaks anything, i like your style xD
lukas is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 07:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukas View Post
im guessing nosboost is like the nutter of this community and doesnt care if he frys/breaks anything, i like your style xD
hes the hardware whore but i dont think hes fried anything..
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: highest voltage i should go?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
that would be close to a 2x oc, that would be quite hard to achieve for a cpu like that without a lot of voltage increase... :P
people have done a 100% oc on it.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU voltage question XDRoX Overclocking and Modding 2 05-10-2008 03:59 PM
some newblet OC questions Durftard Overclocking and Modding 7 12-15-2007 02:05 AM
CPU Voltage questions Gabb Overclocking and Modding 28 11-21-2007 09:15 PM
Quick Voltage Question MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 14 07-29-2007 11:37 PM
RAM voltage and vCore KaliX Overclocking and Modding 7 06-06-2007 04:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.