higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2007, 04:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier?

which one is better? and isn't cpu's overclocking limited to the mhz you can achieve? like 500 x 7 = 3.5ghz 400 x 9 = 3.6ghz
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier?

Higher FSB/lower multiplier, will yield a better overclock. As the FSB is the channel, that the whole system communicates under. So overall the computer will communicate at 500MHz. With the FSB at 400MHz, it's only the CPU, getting most of the benefit.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier?

Isn't the higher fsb/lower multi more strenuous on the proc than lower fsb/higher multi?

*edit*
Also if you don't mind me asking b1gapl, what volt did you use to get a stable 3.3GHz? I'm running stable at 3.0GHz with one notch up from the stock volt, so I believe it's at 1.19 or something very close to that.
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier?

Not sure about that. My guess would be no. Sora runs his E6300 with a 520FSB, everyday.

I wouldn't hesitate for a higher FSB either.

edit:
I use 1.4v
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 09:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier?

Thanks! I'll try upping the volt close to that to get a stable 3.2GHz or so and run Orthos tonight. I'm not complaining though, I'm liking 3.0GHz a lot; I want to comfortably push this G0 Q6600 as much as I can.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier?

One thing you have to realize is that clocking the fsb higher is more difficult than clocking the cpu higher. The fsb wall and the memory wall are serious issues that are only slightly alleviated by things like quad pumped fsb, and DDR memory. parallelization is a good thing.

anyways I guess that can be useful if you want to know a bit of the tech behind it. what i cant figure out is why we have a wall to begin with. is it to hard to make memory with the same speed tolerances as cpus? yeah it would cost more but then there would be no such thing as a bus bottleneck.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.