High Tempretures? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Exclamation High Tempretures?

Hi all,

I just got a friend to build me a new pc here are the specs:

Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro2 Motherboard
Amd XP3200 CPU with 400mhz fsb
Thermaltake TR2 M3 Heatsink & Fan
512mb pc3200 ddr400 memory
Gecube 9600 Pro 128mb videocard
Foxcon Tower Case with Front USB
GB Samsung 8mb cache Hard Drive

The problem is I am getting tempretures between 61 & 64C when Idol and up to 72C when fully loaded. Is this to hot and if so what should I do?


Thanks

Nige
__________________

niggle is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Yes actually, that is VERY high.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

how many case fans do you have, and are you sure they are blowing the proper direction? Also was thermal paste used on the heat sink? Too little or too much can be bad.
Tula M91-30 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Wow, that's hot!

Check if all FANS are working!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

i would reseat the heatsink and make sure it is seated properly and has more thermal paste. also check to make sure you are running on stock voltage if you are not overclocked.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Hi all,

Thanks for your reply,

Just a few other things to note:

VCore is 1.65v as per normal however, sandra 2005 says cpu voltage is running at 1.7 - 1.71 v, what does this mean.

Also, fan is running at 2300 - 2500 rpm, however, the specs for the heatsink say it can go up to 4500 rpm if needed. Could this be the problem?

I hve no other fans besides the cpu fan. Also what is CPU cooling System thermal resistance? This is at 30c.

Thanks

Nige
niggle is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

I have the model down mobo ( GA-7N400-L) and it also runs hot, I've heard that these boards run hot anyway but i still think its too hot. I get around 61 celcius at idle, I have exactly the same processor!!!!!!! wtf shud we do?
ardy89 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ardy89
I have the model down mobo ( GA-7N400-L) and it also runs hot, I've heard that these boards run hot anyway but i still think its too hot. I get around 61 celcius at idle, I have exactly the same processor!!!!!!! wtf shud we do?
did you try reseating the heatsink and applying an even layer of thermal paste on it? If it is using a "thermal pad" then take that off...those suck. what you want is a nice even coat of paste on the middle of the heatsink. even if you already have one, reapply it and reseat the heatsink. it could jsut be mounted a few degrees off and not making good contact.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

true i think i will reseat it, can u put too much thermal paste on?
i did put quite a lot on!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 12:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ardy89
true i think i will reseat it, can u put too much thermal paste on?
i did put quite a lot on!
you can put too much...just put a dab and get a credit card. smooth it out till it is relatively flat, it shouldn't be too thin (you can see the heatsink material) and also should not be too thick (it's piled really high) just a flat even surface probly lke a mm thick, maybe less. it wont kill your machine to have too much...but it wont give you good results either.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.