high overclock question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2008, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default high overclock question

So i was just wondering when people get high overclocks, like 4ghz or 5ghz, with WC or w/e, thats done by increasing the FSB right?. Now do they also increase the memory to match the FSB on the OC'd CPU? It seems like pushing the memory that far would be more difficult than the CPU (b/c the cpu has extra cooling but nothing special is done to the ram, or is there?) Or do they use a memory divider and take the performance hit?
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 12:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: high overclock question

Most people will set the memory multiplier to a 1:1 ratio with the FSB. So in the case of 4GHz, with an FSB of 444(*9), the RAM would be running at 888MHz, which is not that high over stock speed if they were running DDR2 800 RAM.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: high overclock question

Run 1:1 (Sync) and it's all good.
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Crysis on Very High in XP/DX9 Waphlez PC Gaming 1 11-02-2007 11:48 PM
Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 08-08-2007 12:26 PM
3000 High Resolution Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 6 07-09-2007 02:53 AM
future proof high end mobo ? suggest me..... sankirsh New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-08-2007 06:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.