Heres the scenario... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default Heres the scenario...

I havn't even recieved my parts yet, i baught it all and it's due on thursday (In my sig).

I told myself i wouldn't overclock, "theres no need to adam, this will run stuff fine as it is, whats the point".

Then i read other peoples views, one being "not overclocking an e6600 wouldnt even be an option, why keep it underclocked @ 2.4 when its capable of much more, and safely"

This has convinced me, now, your opinions on that? And a little more, i've never overclocked, i've read a little bit about it, i'm not certain that im confident, but i won't jump straight into it.

Heres my motherboard - now i have no clue if this is any decent, overclocking wise, or what, im not sure, im not even sure how overclocking a CPU affects the mobo or w/e, or whether i'd be O/Cing them both.

Moreover - the only cooling that'll be going on in on the CPU is the stock stuff, whatever comes with it. BUT, i have got the Antec900 coming my way, and apparently the cooling in it, is a beast.

Whats your opinions on the matter? I don't want to leave it at its stock speed if it can go alot higher with ease.

(PS my friend has it stock, same case, same PSU, same gfx too actually lol ;p @ 3ghz.)

Thanks in advance.

(PS im not asking HOW to do so (yet) im just asking opinions, and how high you actually reckon i could get it with the stock cooling and the antec900's sick cooling).
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

Ok, after reading into Overclocking PSUs for a little while and speaking to my friend, i think i get the general drift, can someone tell me if im on the right tracks...

-------

E6600 2400 @ default.
So the FSB will be 240 (presuming the multiplyer is 10 @ default?)
Notch the FSB up by _5_ ? so it then becomes 245 (x10), therefore making my CPU speed 2450?

I then boot up and run a stress and stability test, if everything is ok i notch the FSB up another 5, then being 250, making the clock speed 2500mhz?

then another stability test, if its ok, continue another 5?

if it starts getting unstable knock the voltage up? (if so by how much?)

Am i right here, just let me know if im on the right tracks.

PS how high do you think i could get with the info i gave you (my setup, stock cpu cooling w/ antec900 case.





(technical specifications say the FSB speed is 1066Mhz though, where am i getting confused?)
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

That's one of the best overclocking motherboards for the C2Ds. You have the correct idea, on how to overclock. When turning up the voltage just do it by very small increments, until it becomes stable. But you don't want to do it too much. With stock cooling and the antec 900, you could probably reach 3.0GHz+.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

I am also curious about overclocking the C2D's. I ordered the system in my sig but it hasnt come yet too, and My final goal is to get the zalman 9500 and get the e6400 at 400x8 3.2ghz, but what are the "stress tests" or "stability tests" that you take to make sure its stable or whatnot?

Also, i chose 400x8 because i am getting ddr2-800 ram and it would be easy to run it at 1:1, but if i cant get it at 400, maybe 350, do i just lower the ram and let it run at 350mhz or do i change the ratio and let the ram run at 400 or higher and keep the fsb at 350?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

Thanks b1gapl again, but can you also give me a figure / numbers on how small i should be rising the voltages?

Am i correct in finding out the E6600 only does multipliers of 9 and under? Which would be the best?

I've also just baught 2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800) RAM.

I don't quite understand about the ram/cpu relationship that higach spoke about. How does the multiplier affect RAM? I don't understand the 1:1 ratio he also talks about.

(PS im going to invest in a Zalman for sure.)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

For stability, you run prime95.....preferably 8hrs-24hrs. The longer the better.

Definitely invest in a Zalman when overclocking.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

I heard "Orthos" is better?

So you mean even if i just notch the FSB up by 5 i have to do an 8-24hour stability test? Or only when i start getting higher?

Seems like a long process.

(I also want to maximize my RAM performance, if someone could head me onto a tutorial / explanation of what Higach was talking about i'd be greatful)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The longer you run it, the better it is for the long term, but 8hrs is pretty good. 24Hrs would be the ultimate stability. Just run it when you go to bed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Default

Thanks, finally will my RAM cause any problems, and do you suggest i do anything with it?

After reading some more i was advised to keep the multiplier @ 9.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2.4 GHz,
512MB EVGA 7950GT
Gigabyte GA 965P-DS3
2GB CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400
580W HiperPower Type-R BLUE.
Antec Nine Hundred
Goodmans 19\'\' widescreen
Adzh is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I don't think your ram will cause any problems. That ram and speed is good for overclocking. But I don't know much about ram when it comes to overclocking. So the more experienced members here will clear that up.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.