here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2008, 12:06 AM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA | US
Posts: 161
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

Wow, this looks fun! Makes me want to take my no-name case and start cutting. Well, maybe develop a plan first. I wonder how a band-saw would work out...
__________________

Mikepsyche is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 01:52 AM   #32 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
i had that trim left over from when i restored my boat, no kidding. i never got around to swapping it with the thin stuff, which would have looked a bit better.
Maybe for that case....but I've got some larger cases where the fat trim might work with the theme.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:57 PM   #33 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikepsyche View Post
Wow, this looks fun! Makes me want to take my no-name case and start cutting. Well, maybe develop a plan first. I wonder how a band-saw would work out...
BAD IDEA. i used a band saw to cut a tin railing this summer for a border between hard wood and ceramics and i ruined the thing the teeth are to big on them. imo get yourself a dremmel or grinder, with a cutting blade.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:48 AM   #34 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

^^

+1! get an angle grinder... you'll thank yourself when your build looks good and you're done within the year lol
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 12:46 PM   #35 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poizen22 View Post
BAD IDEA. i used a band saw to cut a tin railing this summer for a border between hard wood and ceramics and i ruined the thing the teeth are to big on them. imo get yourself a dremmel or grinder, with a cutting blade.
True...if you're using a wood bandsaw to cut metal. Wood and metal bandsaws are very different and a proper metal cutting bandsaw is a great tool to have in the shop. It will make much better cuts than an angle grinder and will do it faster. With proper guides and jigs the bandsaw is awesome and has a ton of uses. The metal bandsaws run at significantly lower speeds and use different blades (more like fine grinding than cutting) vs their wood couterparts. Many also have coolant to keep cut temps down.

As you mentioned, on a wood saw you'll ruin the teeth and the materials, just too fast a speed for cutting.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:36 PM   #36 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

DoubleYou Tee Eff mang?!

Odd... That's all I can say... Ingenuous, but odd.. I would have made it stainless or chrome or something..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 03:56 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

doesnt look bad
v8killaz is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 09:53 PM   #38 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA | US
Posts: 161
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

Yeah, I was only half thinking about the band-saw. I think I have a dremel and a jigsaw somewhere around here, but I'm not sure. Anyway, I think for me a case mod is something that's only gonna happen far, far into the future right now.
Mikepsyche is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 10:04 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: here is something you can make fun of...sidepanel

It isn't bad for a first mod... My mod, adding a water cooling rad to the top of my case ended up being **** because of the size of my rad... I didn't measure something right... Anyways, I ended up using Loctite glue to hold the rad down, but screwed up and didn't put painters tape around one of the sides and it has glue smeared up the side of it where I tried to smooth it out... grr... lol
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP, trying to make my PS1 work on an LCD TV??? Joeyboy Sony Playstation 5 08-05-2008 08:45 PM
The LXF Guide: Make your own Fedora re-spin Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-05-2008 03:50 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Easiest/Best Way To Make an Unattended Windows Setup Disc? DMcLaughlin Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-24-2008 10:44 PM
Weekend Fun H2O Osiris PC Gaming 0 10-05-2007 08:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.