here i go again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default here i go again

Sold 5K worth of stuff on ebay lol. looks like i need something to blow my money on. Might go ahead and buy 2 8800s and upgrade from my 6800 to quad lol. Wish ati would get there friggin butts goin so i can see how the new card is gunna stand up to the 8800. Tired of waiting lol
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

eh maybe i will wait on the quad core part. wont help any right now,, and would probably hurt my overclocking
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Just get an X6800, Asus Commando or RD600 when it comes out, 2GB of some Team Xtreme DDR2 800 ram. (not 8000), Maybe 2 150 GB raptors with two 500GB raptors for space, Dual 8800GTX's, a OCZ GameXteme 700 PSU, CM Stacker, and a Watercooling kit.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I suggest not going SLI on the 8800GTX, because one is enough. But seeing as you will sell it on ebay afterwards, have fun with it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Just get an X6800, Asus Commando or RD600 when it comes out, 2GB of some Team Xtreme DDR2 800 ram. (not 8000), Maybe 2 150 GB raptors with two 500GB raptors for space, Dual 8800GTX's, a OCZ GameXteme 700 PSU, CM Stacker, and a Watercooling kit.
He already has a x6800, and If I am not mistaking a phase change kit. lol
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Oh, thought he sold 5K of stuff as in he sold his whole PC.

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

no lol..... i have 5k do blow on this pc... actually lol not to sound stuck up, but i also sold another mds 9000 unit, so lol i will have about 13K sitting in paypal in 4 days.
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yup i got a x6800 and phase. I will def get 2 8800gtx's,,, or r600s if they come out in the next week. I have the pw power and cooling 1kw psu, so wont need anymore power..

I am just not sure what mobo to use. was thinking about the ASUS P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe ... x6800 and 2 8800gtx's.. But i dunno, i havnt kept up with nvidia boards in like 6 months, is this a good board?
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Go for the evga 680i motherboard. It's awesome, and supposedly the best for C2Ds. OMG 13k?!. Share the wealth man. haha jk...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

actually the Asus Striker Extreme sounds like the way to go
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.