Helps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2004, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to traxxx Send a message via Yahoo to traxxx
Angry Helps

I just recently bought a new video card (Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro), so I uninstalled my old one (Geforce 2).. Everything works fine, but when I go to play a game (ut2004), it will load for a sec and then I get the blue screen of death and have to restart.

I returned it to the manufacturer because I was getting the same thing. I talked to a tech from Sapphire and he said it had to be the card, so I got the new one and now I'm getting the same thing and the tech said he doesnt know.

BTW I didnt reload windows, I kept the current one and just uninstalled the old card and drivers. I loaded the new one and downloaded the drivers for the new card. I have all the upto date drivers, and I even tried the old drivers and I get the same thing. Do you guys have any suggestion on what could be the problem or what there is to do about it?

Thanks
__________________

traxxx is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

Im just curious... what operating system do you have?
__________________

DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

could u post ur pc setup plz? what os u use, and what service pack. Hmm, tell me that, then i can help u better
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Sounds like a conflict with the previous drivers. I would recommend reformatting the HDD to wipe it clean.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

And yes, some detailed information on the system would be helpful.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to traxxx Send a message via Yahoo to traxxx
Default

My Computer

AMD Althlon(TM) XP 2400+
1.99ghz
256MB of ram

microsoft windows xp
home edition
verson 2002
service pack 1
traxxx is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Your system is compatible with the video card. The most effective way to resolve this problem would be to reformat the HDD. This way there will not be any traces of the previous nVidia drivers.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

yea, reformat ur hd, it will only take 1 hour max. Its best way to get it to work. But try this 1st.

take off any ati drivers u have. put in ur old video card. then, go to deveice manager, and select ur display adapter, and remove it.

then, make shur all drivers are uninstalled. then turn pc off, and swap the vid cards. turn pc on, and install the latest ati drivers 4.8, dont install the 4.9 beta, just to get it to work, then if u get it working, u can switch to he beta doom 3 drivers.

Hope this helped
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to traxxx Send a message via Yahoo to traxxx
Default

So you think if I reformat my HDD I shouldnt have the problem anymore?

And is that the only thing I have to resort to.
traxxx is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 08:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

read my post, and try what i said. if it doesnt work, jsut reformat
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.