help w/ GPU OCing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2005, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default help w/ GPU OCing

I need help on OCing my MSI GeForce 6600
It runs at:
3d core clock : 300 Mhz
Memory clock : 500 Mhz
Usualy have it OCed to 324/540 Mhz, and today tried to OC it up to 350/600 Mhz.


The thing is, while playing UT2004, stuff happened like lines would apper randomly in the game and it would not play as nicely as with the previous OC. could it be that I OCed my card a bit to much and can this kind of thing cause damage? cuz it cost me and i dont want to fry it
and by the way can anyone point me in the direction of a program that can give u the temps of both ur GPU and CPU while running windows?

further more, while i tried to put a better resolution on the game, my screen would go black and say smthing weird like frenquency error or smthing (for any resolution over 1200/900), i'll have to check again for wat it said exactly, but could that be that the screen cant support the refresh rate anymore or that the screen just doesnt have enough pixels? but that would be weird cause i play painkiller in 1600 * 1200 resolution and there arnt any problems

thats about all for my problems,
thx for your help!
__________________

zeroordie is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

first, no offense, but the 6600 is a completely waste of money IMO b/c it performs pretty bad for the money

second, you gotta let the card burn in (play games on stock 300/500 and let it loop 3dmark05) for at least a week, then OC it

download coolbits2 from www.guru3d.com and let it "detect optimal frequency"; that it probably the speed you want it to stay at

350/600 is WAY too much of an overclock and your card probably won't handle it (+20% on mem freqency is too much)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

oh man **** i didnt know the 6600 was a bad buy.
damn, ill do my research next time, but why do say that? it seems to work fine in hi resolutions and stuff like that.
anyway, what do you mean by "let it loop 3dmark05"
thx!
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

by the way i downloaded coolbits 2, how r u sopposed to use it?
lol sry im kinda new w/ this kind of thing
all it has in the unzipped folder is a 2Kb thing called coolbits_forceware
what do i do with that?
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 08:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

ok so it says in UT2004 frequency over range when i put my res to 1600*1200 or over
any ideas y?
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 09:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

yes because your monitor doesnt support that res. its above your maximum
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Bottom line = 6600's suck. If you ever try to OC a 6600, just buy one from BFG that has been overclocked already. But just jump up $100 and get a 6800.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Those random lines and screen garbage that you were getting is called artifacts. This means that your vid card is overheating. If your card is overheating, then you have to turn down the clock speed on it (or get some kinda fancy cooling system).
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zimon
yes because your monitor doesnt support that res. its above your maximum
yes but as i said, i play painkiller in 1600*1200 res and my screen doesnt go black and say frequency over range, so i'm kinda bummed about that. could it be because i might have damaged my GPU when i over OCed it?
and to really OC it like 20% and not get artifacts, you guys are tellin me to get a better cooling system, but i dont know how to choose a new fan for my GPU seeing as how it already has one and i never looked into this so i would not know how to get them to be compatible and stuff like that so, would it help if i highered the GPU's voltage?
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 02:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

+, is there any way to manually control and set your fan speeds in bios?
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.