help plz need to overclock my cpu - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2009, 04:58 AM   #31 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
qft!!
I always used to think that meant

Quit ****ing talking.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:40 AM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

512mb of RAM on xp could be another problem no one has really pointed at. Anyway, you're best bet would be upgrading the video card and/or adding more RAM. You won't be able to overclock since it's a pre-built
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 09:18 AM   #33 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

Start out on ebay and you might be able to find a faster CPU + cooler, better AGP card and more RAM but that's going to cost you anyway. Fact of the matter is that even if you were able to OC that CPU (and you can't) it is not necessarily something you should do because you probably don't have very good cooling inside that prebuit case meaning you stand a fair chance of destroying the HW you do have and ending up with no PC at all.
If the game is experiencing some kind of glitch rather than just low FPS then you should take a look in your logs to see if you can find the reason.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 10:18 AM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

If he's going to buy anything, he's better off just grabbing a few upgrades. 250 ish bucks can get him a sweet machine that will play some games pretty well, and he'll pretty much have a new machine.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 Will Self Overclock maroon1 Polls 0 08-20-2008 01:53 PM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
New CPU I need some help plz AMD6415 System Upgrades 7 12-28-2007 06:26 PM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 06:49 PM
Does my MB have a lock on the CPU freq.??? rickytan Overclocking and Modding 2 12-12-2007 01:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.