help plz need to overclock my cpu - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2009, 05:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

Unfortunately the only good way to oc is through the bios and as was already said manufacturers lock the bios to prevent overclocking.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Setsuna F. Seyei View Post
not triyng to be a-hole just ****ed that i cant get some decent asdvice on how to oc my cpu. and as to sa i can run it in all forms but ist has the same hang ups and glichtes in all of them and its not just because of gta that i want to oc. i heard that i could get this proc upto 2.3GHz on 2-3 other tech sites but i didnt know that i couldnt do it on a pre built rig i still think that there should bee a way around this. Does anyone know any?
That's if you have decent cooling, and that thing runs really hot... with the stock cooler on a P4 you run at like 70 degrees on Idle, even worse when its on Max load..

If you have a do not have a prebuilt, and a solid cooler, than you could OC, but even then, the FPS difference is miniscule and you have a lot higher temps.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:38 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BFE
Posts: 28
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
That's if you have decent cooling, and that thing runs really hot... with the stock cooler on a P4 you run at like 70 degrees on Idle, even worse when its on Max load..

If you have a do not have a prebuilt, and a solid cooler, than you could OC, but even then, the FPS difference is miniscule and you have a lot higher temps.
If some onewould have told me this at the beginning i probaly wouldnt have gotten so ****ed it is a prebuilt its not so much the FPS but the fact that it Hangs a certain points in my games (all of them not just San Andreas.) Itried every thing io could think of to fix it. the HDD s are new the os is a clean install the proc is new(well as new as can be after 7 yrs)the computer i have was originally at my local library and was given to them by a Gates Grant (i.e. Bill gates.)
Setsuna F. Seyei is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

You need a new GPU.....

Find a decent deal on an AGP card on eBay or something that is better than a FX 5500 (which is any ATI Radeon 9000 series or higher or any Geforce 6000 series or higher)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:44 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BFE
Posts: 28
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

the card i have supports non Sli Multi gpu. if i were to install a second card of the same type obviously and oc it to the same point would that help at all?
Setsuna F. Seyei is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:45 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

Nah I mean like get rid of your current FX 5500 and replace it with a new one...

No AGP supporting boards even support SLI or CF
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BFE
Posts: 28
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

to clarify what i said previously the card itself Supports NON SLI MULTI GPU. in other words 2 cards linked together but not by SLI
Setsuna F. Seyei is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 05:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

We know what you said.

And we are telling you, you need a new card plain and simple. multi-gpu is just to run more displays, thats all.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 11:30 PM   #29 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

This thread just keeps getting better and better.
aspire is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 04:15 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: help plz need to overclock my cpu

You keep saying your games are glitching. In what way are they glitching? You're so confident that your computer can play this game so, assuming you're right, maybe its not your hardware that is causing the problem. There is a big difference between studdering from bad fps and glitching
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 Will Self Overclock maroon1 Polls 0 08-20-2008 01:53 PM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
New CPU I need some help plz AMD6415 System Upgrades 7 12-28-2007 06:26 PM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 06:49 PM
Does my MB have a lock on the CPU freq.??? rickytan Overclocking and Modding 2 12-12-2007 01:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.