Help PLEASE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation Help PLEASE

Amount to spend: $200
What needed:
RAM
CPU
MOBO

What Wanted:
512mb of ram
mobo with 8x AGP
also if possible PCIe
cpu with (optional) HT

Please help me...
__________________

Kickerz is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

some kind of ram like this http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-167&depa=1
then cpu amd xp 2200
and motherboard just get compatible with this stuff
__________________

comrad is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 09:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

dude, thats not even that much money to even buy a cpu. you need at least 350-400, to buy good and stable cpu, mobo, and ram
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

actually now that i think about it, at Fry's Electronics they sell Pentium 4 combinations with mobo (i've seen a 3.4 ghz with an ASUS mobo combo) for $200. And they've sold pc3200 ram (512MB) for $50.

Also, just so you know anything will be an improvement for me i'm currentlyr unning:

Pentium 4 1.8 GHZ
Elitegroup Motherboard (VIA)
512mb SDram
80GB 7200 RPM hardrive
350 watt powersupply
ATI-brand Radeon 9800 pro 128MB (Best part of the machine)
I guess I shuldnt' have spent so much on the video card
$250...

Also, i'm not familiar with PQi, and i hear that AMDs take a lot out of the power, and considering i have many fans, lights, 2 hard drives, Radeion 9800 pro, SBL 5.1, and Sony CD, DVD, RW, Dual Layer etc. I don't think i will be able to add much more, correct me if i'm wrong.
I've heard of Kingston and Crucial and corsair, thats about it.

I'm also trying to run Half-Life 2, 1280x1024... (19" LCD)
Kickerz is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah your setup is soo terrible...
Try overclocking your CPU, some if the intel's around 1.6 to 2.0 ghz were great overclockers, and some 1.6's could reach 2.4 with stock cooling.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

I read a Review where they tested highend ram and they had like XMS and HyperX and some other ones and the XMS and Pqi got first place so i kind of like pqi now.lol
comrad is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i'd just get a mobo and ram right now if i were you....everything else you have is fine i think....overclock the cpu over 2ghz are your cruzin'.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 12:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

i've thought of most of the things you guys are saying, i can't keep my CPU for three reasons:
1. It wont fit in a new mobo with new ram...
2. It can't handle newer games, no matter what the clock speed.
3. It's been overclocked from 1500MHZ to 1.8, i bought it o/ced, i can overclock it a bunch more, under pressure its... maybe mid-90s Farenheit.

Any suggestions for like $300
I'm getting a job
so... we'll see
__________________

Kickerz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.