Help Please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2005, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default Help Please!

Arite, well, i just finished my first major case mod. I took my Small Form Factor barebones PC and moved it into a G4 case (which looks pretty sick) but is quite tempermental. Whenever i boot it, it does its normal thing, i get into windows, it starts loading stuff, i can move the mouse n everything then POOF, it all goes away! the only thing I can think of is that it is rapidly overheating, but i doubt it becaus i still have the bottom half (it was bumping up against the power supply) of the old heatsink on there (fan is gone too). Would this make this drastic of a difference, turning a once stable machine into one that is unusable? I have searched my bios for a way to change the auto-shutdown temp, but I cant find it (the fact that i only have about 40 seconds to search for it doesn't help)
__________________

__________________
Mac G4 Conversion
--++==100% Complete==++--
Mac G4 Case
AMD AthlonXP 3000+
Biostar MicroATX KT400
512Mb Crucial DDR
Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Total Build Time: 23 Hours

Current System Specs
--++Thermaltake
Tsunami Black Case++--
Radeon x800 Pro 256mb PCI-e
1.5 Gb DDR400
AMD64 3500+
-========-========-
JLobes is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

JLobes, wait your computer has no Heatsink and CPU Fan??? Sorry i cant fully understand you... i think its me i just took alot of pills, but i cant seem to understand that heatsink part...
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

No no no, it has a heat sink, just, i hacked a corner out of it so it would fit in the weirdly hinging G4 case. The other thing i could think of is RAM. is there any way short of sticking it in someone else's comp to check if i have bad ram?
__________________
Mac G4 Conversion
--++==100% Complete==++--
Mac G4 Case
AMD AthlonXP 3000+
Biostar MicroATX KT400
512Mb Crucial DDR
Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Total Build Time: 23 Hours

Current System Specs
--++Thermaltake
Tsunami Black Case++--
Radeon x800 Pro 256mb PCI-e
1.5 Gb DDR400
AMD64 3500+
-========-========-
JLobes is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

If it was RAM, then your computer wouldent start at all. RAM either works or it does'ent. I cant believe you took part of your heatsink off.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 06:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

it might be the psu. check it on someone elses computer or use someone elses on yours.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 11:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's shutting down because it's overheating. you need to get another heatsink and fan, and if need be, move the PSU out of the way
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 12:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Thanks for your help guys, appreciate the feedback, (though its seeming more and more like a problem that will be solved by throwing money at it...)and ill post again to tell u what was up with it.
__________________
Mac G4 Conversion
--++==100% Complete==++--
Mac G4 Case
AMD AthlonXP 3000+
Biostar MicroATX KT400
512Mb Crucial DDR
Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Total Build Time: 23 Hours

Current System Specs
--++Thermaltake
Tsunami Black Case++--
Radeon x800 Pro 256mb PCI-e
1.5 Gb DDR400
AMD64 3500+
-========-========-
JLobes is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 02:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's your CPU?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default

yeah, its gotta be your cpu overheating... so did you say your heatsink didn't have a fan on it? that would explain everything.
__________________

Nevermore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.