Help with overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adriodyn

Beta member
To start off I guess I'll tell you my system specs.

MoBo: ALiveNF6P-VSTA
CPU: AMD X2 64 2.6ghz 5000+ (OC'd to 3.02ghz)
Gfx: Integrated Geforce6150SE and ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Ram: 2gb DDR2 800
Storage: 160Gb SATA HD and 60Gb IDE HD

Anyways, what I'm wondering since my processor is unstable past 3Ghz is if increasing my voltage will allow me to reach higher speeds. If so, my problem is that my BIOS won't let me change my CPU voltage past 1.35V. Is there any way get past this? Is this the max voltage my board can deliver to a CPU?

Also, while looking around in BIOS I saw a Chipset core voltage. What is this, and does it have anything to do with why my voltage won't pass 1.35V?

If your board already has the fastest ram it can handle, can you still overclock your ram? How do you overclock your ram?

Thanks, I know I'm a newb. By the way I do pay attention to my hardware monitors to make sure nothing overheats.

your CPU is probably limited to that voltage... im not really sure cuz i've never been an AMD fan... but your board should be able to deliver over 2V

your chipset core voltage is also known as NB or MCH voltage... it has nothing to do with the voltage of your CPU, but increasing it to 1.2-1.3V should help with OC stability.

Yes you can still OC your RAM... the board just hasn't been tested/certified at any frequency above that...next, you dont OC your RAM, it really just comes along for the ride... when you increase your FSB, the RAM frequncy will increase proportionally. The system memory multiplier (aka divider or FSB : DRAM ratio) determines this increase. if you set the memory multiplier to 2 (ie 1:1) the DRAM frequency will increase 1MHz per MHZ increase in FSB (ie 2MHz DDR2)

i know that doesnt really seem clear, but its a pretty broad question... if you need any more info, post back or PM me and i'll try to explain it a bit better