Help with overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2008, 05:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Help with overclocking

To start off I guess I'll tell you my system specs.

MoBo: ALiveNF6P-VSTA
CPU: AMD X2 64 2.6ghz 5000+ (OC'd to 3.02ghz)
Gfx: Integrated Geforce6150SE and ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Ram: 2gb DDR2 800
Storage: 160Gb SATA HD and 60Gb IDE HD

Anyways, what I'm wondering since my processor is unstable past 3Ghz is if increasing my voltage will allow me to reach higher speeds. If so, my problem is that my BIOS won't let me change my CPU voltage past 1.35V. Is there any way get past this? Is this the max voltage my board can deliver to a CPU?

Also, while looking around in BIOS I saw a Chipset core voltage. What is this, and does it have anything to do with why my voltage won't pass 1.35V?

If your board already has the fastest ram it can handle, can you still overclock your ram? How do you overclock your ram?

Thanks, I know I'm a newb. By the way I do pay attention to my hardware monitors to make sure nothing overheats.
__________________

Adriodyn is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Help with overclocking

your CPU is probably limited to that voltage... im not really sure cuz i've never been an AMD fan... but your board should be able to deliver over 2V

your chipset core voltage is also known as NB or MCH voltage... it has nothing to do with the voltage of your CPU, but increasing it to 1.2-1.3V should help with OC stability.

Yes you can still OC your RAM... the board just hasn't been tested/certified at any frequency above that...next, you dont OC your RAM, it really just comes along for the ride... when you increase your FSB, the RAM frequncy will increase proportionally. The system memory multiplier (aka divider or FSB : DRAM ratio) determines this increase. if you set the memory multiplier to 2 (ie 1:1) the DRAM frequency will increase 1MHz per MHZ increase in FSB (ie 2MHz DDR2)

i know that doesnt really seem clear, but its a pretty broad question... if you need any more info, post back or PM me and i'll try to explain it a bit better
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Help with overclocking

This guy had the same CPU and mother board.

AMD Processors Forums - possible to overclock athlon X2 5000+ with stock cooling?

Here is the answer he got

"OK first off if your board wont support overclocking ion bios then AMD overdrive WILL not work ether. Fix is to buy a board that supports overclocking."

1.35Vcore is not much to work with. Thats the Vcore I m currently using for my 3.00ghz over clock. The only thing limiting me though, is heat. Better heat sink and I m upping to 3.2
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Help with overclocking

In short your mobo sucks. Get one that can overclock. My guess is you have some oem desktop like a dell or compaq and wanted to speed it up. It doesn't work like that. OEMs use cheap motherboards that will only support the barest features required to work with the desired OS. Overclocking is almost always dropped, and when it is included its not very good.

I'm guessing that's an AM2 build (someone correct me if im off), if so then there are plenty of better boards to choose from.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Help with overclocking

He has 2 options

#1: Get a new board and PSU.

Newegg.com - Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC 430W ATX Power Supply - Power Supplies

#2: Go Intel with new board PSU and CPU
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Help with overclocking

I recommend against that Psu, I had that very model at one point an it failed on me.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Help with overclocking

It has tons of good reviews and seemed decently priced. I got one running in the family computer right now.

But yeah if that doesn't cut it. The Antec EarthWatt 380 Watts can be had for REAL CHEAP.

Newegg.com - Antec earthwatts EA380 380W ATX12V v2.0 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Overclocking Thread. Ste Overclocking and Modding 429 02-24-2010 05:03 PM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Intel Nehalem to allow overclocking, some processors will even encourage it maroon1 New Technology and Products 10 06-15-2008 06:15 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.