help with overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2007, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default help with overclocking

I recently bought a 5200+ (I didn't get core 2 as I was already invested in AM2) and I currently have it running at around 3.1ghz. Now I don't really know what I'm doing, and I have the voltage at 1.6v. The average temperature is about 47 degrees celcius, I am using a zalman cooler. Is the voltage too high or is it alright to be at this level?
__________________

teh_mapn00b is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: help with overclocking

All chips are different so it really depends however I think you should lower the voltage and see if it's stable lower becuase that's quite high I think. I know for C2D it is but i've never OC'd an X2 so you'll have to ask like Nagasama or someone who has.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: help with overclocking

Use CPU Burn-in or Prime95 to check it for stability. If it doesn't crash after a 24/7 test, its good to go.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: help with overclocking

You will need two instances of Prime 95 for a dual-core, or better yet use Orthos.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: help with overclocking

alright ill try orthos or prime 95 thanks
teh_mapn00b is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: help with overclocking

crap its at 68 degrees with 2 prime95 runin tests should i stop????
teh_mapn00b is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: help with overclocking

turn down your Vcore...1.6 is quite high I think. It should work with lower man. You want under 60 degrees usually.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: help with overclocking

68 is too high - definately turn down the voltage unless you want to try out a better cooling system.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: help with overclocking

with a zalman and that chip you shouldn't be getting those temps at that ghz so I'm telling you that turning down your Vcore will probably work and keep you at the same speed. Turn it down and try again :P
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 11:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: help with overclocking

Quote:
with a zalman and that chip you shouldn't be getting those temps at that ghz so I'm telling you that turning down your Vcore will probably work and keep you at the same speed. Turn it down and try again :P
i wouldn't make that assumption. he just said he had a "Zalman" cooler with no indication of what model. however i agree, turn down the voltage and see if it is stable at a lower vcore.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking stability problems... b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 11 03-27-2007 09:11 PM
Overclocking my x1950pro iNternal Overclocking and Modding 9 03-25-2007 07:55 AM
Overclocking My E6300 Cuong Overclocking and Modding 16 03-24-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.