Help with Overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Da11en47

In Runtime
Ok Im new to this overclocking stuff. My motherboard has a overclocking feature built into it. For instance, it will let me overclock 10 %, 20%, and 30%. Well I choose 20%, (2.8 Ggz---> 3.36 Ghz). Now whenever I try 30% it wont boot.

My question is how do I make it reach 30%, I've heard I have to increase the voltage? How do I begin doing that? Also do you guys think I should do this and go even higher or should I quit while im ahead? My CPU temperature is at 38-43 celcius, idle, and never goes above 50 c under load, also I still have stock cooling on the CPU. Thanks for any help.

seems like a good temp, raise the voltage a bit and turn the speed of the ram down abit aswell

....I dont know how, thats why Im asking. How do you raise the voltage? or even turn the speed of the ram down?

Its only my humble opinion as someone who is new to all this o/c lark myself... but the aproach - get told something... then try it... is a pretty dangerous one.

The reason for this is...

a: all motherboards have different setups... meaning different Bios.
b: Changing one setting in Bios may result in an automatic change in another setting... which you may or may not be damaging to your system (RE: FSB and RAM settings spring to mind)... using a windows program like you mentioned often has this effect.
c: You may misinterpret what others say... or they may be just talking rubbish to start with.

I really dont mean to lecture you... its your machine... do what ever you like to it! ... but i simply advise caution when setting out on the overclocking mission. (A good friend said the same to me and im so glad he did... as since learning more ive seen many areas where i would have made SERIOUS mistakes before).

You mentioned you were using a program in windows to overclock...
this is an example of the easy option... and the bad news is that there are no shortcuts to a good overclock...