Help With An Overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2008, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Help With An Overclock

Trying to overclock an E2140 with some A-Data Memory.

If I set the FSB to say 325 I get 2.6GHz because of a max multiplier of 8 and my RAM is at 899MHz compared to the original 800MHz with a RAM Multiplier of 2.66. That's the easy part.

But about the voltages. I set the voltages to auto and everything works fine, a little hot, but fine. I should be able to set everything at stock voltages as the components are reported to being able to handle it, but the BIOS wont post. If I increase my RAM voltages it still won't post

I obviously need to do something about the voltages, but what? How do I find out what to use for the settings?

RAM: Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
MOBO: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-G31M-S2L LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 10:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

What is your cpu's VID? (you can find it in core temp)
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

what voltage is the auto feature setting your cpu to? You can check threw cpuz.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

VID = 1.2v according to core temp

CPU-Z screen shots

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

bump

Any help with setting the right voltages? I am not very knowledgeable on this subject
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

Try 1.325v for 2.6ghz and if it is stable you can gradually decrease the voltage until you find the lowest it is stable at.

Also I recommend going to a lower ram multiplier until you determine if your cpu is stable. It's not necessary but its easier if you don't have to worry about you ram being stable while you are testing your cpu.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

Alright thanks, I'll try that. I wish I could lower the ram multiplier but that's as low as my mobo can take it
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 11:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

yeah, up th voltage to 1.3-1.375.

You will also want to (well i would) to up the voltage on the ram to 2.1-2.2 and tighten the timmings to 4.4.4.12
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 08:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

ooooh, sounds good
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 03:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Help With An Overclock

CPU voltage up to ~1.35V, maybe add a bit to the Northbridge voltage as well... also make sure you're running your RAM at the right voltage as well (you can find it on the sticker on the side of your RAM)... you might also want to loosen the tRFC to around 44 cycles and change the command rate to 2
__________________

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
wanting to overclock my E6420 Snake64_009 Overclocking and Modding 12 07-16-2007 03:43 AM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.