Help with OCing my Q6600 g0? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2008, 12:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

So im trying to OC my q6600 to 3.2ghz can anyone recommend what voltage i should jump it up 2 i tried to oc at 2.8ghz on stock voltages but failed.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

i'd start at 1.4-1.45 and see how hot it gets and how high it will go on that. then work your way down to a comfortable level. kind of backwards from the mainstream school of overclocking, but it has always worked better for me. start high, end low. kind of like some of my younger days in the bar lol.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 01:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

Well i OC it to 3.0ghz at 1.27500 and im running prime 95 to test it set the rams to 800mhz also.
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

Well after 3 mins the 4th core got a error and stop working.I up the Vcore voltage is that the right one?
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 02:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

yes, just put your voltage to 1.4-1.45 and when you reach your desired overclock, go down slowly with the voltage until your happy, i wouldnt run 1.45 daily through a chip so.
lukas is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 03:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

So run it at 1.45 and go down slowly untill its stable?
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

put 1.4v-1.45v in the chip with the desired overclock, say 3.4ghz, if its stable, take the voltage down a bit more, and if thats voltage carry on taking the voltage down..
lukas is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

You should be able to do 3.2 with less than 1.4v I run at 3.6 with 1.4v. You might need to up your PLL voltage also.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

A screen shot and your settings in bios would be helpful
If you don't feel like waiting a whole day to stability test just use this and run 10 passes
IntelBurnTest v1.6 download from Guru3D.com
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Help with OCing my Q6600 g0?

Hmm so what should I up the ppl voltage 2 and ima start OCing once my vista OS arrives but I will take a screenshot of my bios setting for u guys hopefully I can get it to 3.2ghz stable I would be very happy.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 32 09-05-2008 01:04 AM
OK, ocing my q6600 to 3.6 & ram ocing. (no, not a how do i oc thread) Luke Overclocking and Modding 10 08-29-2008 02:44 PM
Q6600 OCing solidsteve Overclocking and Modding 4 07-19-2008 05:51 PM
Help me choose a decent oc'ing mobo for a q6600 R1C0CH3T New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-04-2007 02:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.