Help OC my Q6600 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2008, 07:11 PM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalliArt882 View Post
Make sure your RAM voltage is up where it's supposed to be also. For example, my RAM is 2.2v stable but my mobo defaults at 1.8v. Also, your RAM timings seem loose at 6-6-6-18. After you think your system is stable, you can maybe tighten them to 5-5-5-15. That's what I'm running, and my e6600 is 3.6ghz.

This might not have anything to do with your RAM however. Your vcore might be too low if you can't run Crysis but a few minutes. So if your temps are good, you have some headroom to up the vcore.
Ok, thanks a lot man! What is your voltage at on your board? I want a general idea of where my voltage should be close to. Is there a voltage that is so high it nears a danger point for hurting your PC?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 09:24 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

You have a quad-core, which is basically two of my CPUs slapped together, so it's going to be more power-hungry. But I'll post my voltages when I reboot.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 10:25 PM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Ok, thanks man. I have a 650watt PSU, so I definitely have enough power. I just gotta figure out what voltage work best...
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 03:42 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Here's every useful bit of info I have. The first thing I can tell you is make sure that your CPU throttling is off. CPU throttling reduces the power and speed of your cpu while its idling by turning down the multiplier. This can cause problems for overclockers, and the power savings are minimal anyway. Your mobo should have similar BIOS to me, so go into your settings and Disable the following:

CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)
CPU Thermal Monitor
CPU EIST

Here are my settings:

DDR2 Overvoltage: +.4v (my mobo defaults at 1.8v, but my RAM needs 2.2v.)
FSB: +.2v
(G) MCH: +.2v
CPU: 1.44375
Multi: 9x
FSB: 400mhz (this puts you at 3.6ghz)
PCI: 100mhz
Memory Multiplier: 2x (this puts your ram at 800mhz. for some reason if i allow my ram to clock higher, my system wont post. If your ram is going higher when you OC, then maybe this is a problem)

Again, I will be surprised if your q6600 will be stable with my cpu voltage number. But you might be ok with everything else.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.