Help OC my Q6600 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2008, 05:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Paints just fine..... i use it, but also just cut out the part that youre looking for helps.
I thought about that, but that would require extra effort. haha
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 12:57 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

So can anyone offer any advice? Anybody here have the same setup as I do, and can lend me some knowledge how to overclock to 3.3Ghz? I built my PC with optimum OC parts, so it should be rather easy. But like I said, I'm an OC noob and I need some help.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 04:15 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Well, I'm going out of town for two weeks. I really haven't received any help at all since I posted my screen shots. If anyone could post some tips or help me out while I'm gone, I'll read it and get back to you when I'm back in town.

Thanks.
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 10:13 PM   #24 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Not sure what you want, as your OCs look fine.

You gotta ask a question which has a definitive answer.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 11:22 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

How can I get it to 3.3, or even better, 3.6??
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 01:33 PM   #26 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Hey gekko, did you added voltage to get it to 3.0?

(consider it a free bump)
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 01:38 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3kk0 View Post
How can I get it to 3.3, or even better, 3.6??
Oh great, another person expecting an overclock because somebody else has gotten it before

You might just have an unlucky batch that won't go far, to go to 3.3ghz, you'll have to increase to 377 FSB, not hard, but you need to Increase the Voltage....

Check your temps after it though
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 02:37 PM   #28 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Best advice ever. Read some more.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:24 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Oh great, another person expecting an overclock because somebody else has gotten it before

You might just have an unlucky batch that won't go far, to go to 3.3ghz, you'll have to increase to 377 FSB, not hard, but you need to Increase the Voltage....

Check your temps after it though
I don't expect that at all. I totally understand the concept of overclocking itself. Different boards overclock better than others, it's just a lucky chance to get a good board.

I actually overclocked to 3.3Ghz already, and had great temps, but my computer couldn't hold it after I started playing Crysis for about 5-10 mins. Temps were still fine, I think it had to do with the RAM clock settings.

Anyway, I guess I'll just go read some guides (which I've already done). I was just wondering if anyone here could provide some tips I might not read or something...
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:30 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Make sure your RAM voltage is up where it's supposed to be also. For example, my RAM is 2.2v stable but my mobo defaults at 1.8v. Also, your RAM timings seem loose at 6-6-6-18. After you think your system is stable, you can maybe tighten them to 5-5-5-15. That's what I'm running, and my e6600 is 3.6ghz.

This might not have anything to do with your RAM however. Your vcore might be too low if you can't run Crysis but a few minutes. So if your temps are good, you have some headroom to up the vcore.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.