Help OC my Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2008, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Help OC my Q6600

Ok, here are my specs:

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
Thermaltake M9 Case
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB Vid Card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X
Tuniq Tower 120
Artic Silver 5 thermal past

I just built this PC, my first ever build, and I got a lot of help from these boards. Now I'm ready to OC and see what this baby can do.

I know there are plenty of guides and whatnot to overclocking, but I really need someone to "hold my hand" and show me how. I really have no clue what to do first. I don't even know how to use Everest to monitor my core or vid card temps.

Where do I start?

(I'll post some Cpuz screenshots tomorrow!)
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Very same question, and very same situation.

I know overcloaking q6600 is somewhere here tho.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Ok first thing first, try to show a screenshot of CoreTemp to see what its VID and Temps are (these are factors that can affect your ability to overclock)

VID- required voltage to run at stock speed (if this is low, you could be able to run at higher clocks at lower voltages)
Temps- lower temps are nice because you want to avoid the 60 degrees threshold

First try to 3.0ghz, that's an easy jump and you could do it without increasing voltages or anything..

increase the FSB from 266mhz to 333mhz or depending on your board you have a setting of 1066 to 1333
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

I am just curious, but if you don't change the voltage dosent the mean it will stay as cool as it was at stock speed?

In my case, I am running with intel stock fan.

And cores Cpu is running at: 43
1 core: 52
2core: 55
3 core: 52
4 core: 58

I am currently unfolding proteins, so maybe thats why they are high.
They go at around 40's when not folding protein.

Think I can still overclock with intel stock fan?
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

I don't recommend it but you can...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Why? Temps will go around 40 at its highest, when am not folding protein. Do you still not recommend it?

And if I dont increase voltage, dosent that make it as hot as stock speeds?
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 05:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Quote:
1 core: 52
2core: 55
3 core: 52
4 core: 58
thats pretty hot for what your doing. Thats a little over the hottest i will get under load (gaming) and im using the stock heatsink.

just web browsing right now I'm at:

34
34
31
31

What thermal paste are you using?

By the way, what is your VID?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

you have to purchase an aftermarket heatsink if you want to OC your quad. Otherwise you're not going to get very far.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric0h View Post
I am just curious, but if you don't change the voltage dosent the mean it will stay as cool as it was at stock speed?

In my case, I am running with intel stock fan.

And cores Cpu is running at: 43
1 core: 52
2core: 55
3 core: 52
4 core: 58

I am currently unfolding proteins, so maybe thats why they are high.
They go at around 40's when not folding protein.

Think I can still overclock with intel stock fan?
Those temps are horrid...

You have a high VID... don't expect much headroom in OC'ing
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Help OC my Q6600

I've been reading some guides and I've hit 9x333mhz so far. That's 3Ghz...
I am sitting on these temps w/out load:
core#1 47c
core#2 44c
core#3 38c
core#4 38c
I'm gonna go for 3.3Ghz then test it for half a day on Prime95.

Edit: I just got 3.3Ghz. What screenshot/s should I upload to let you techs see what I have my settings on? Which program? CoreTemps? Cpuz?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.