HELP!!! New HS and AS5... is this supposed to happen?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default HELP!!! New HS and AS5... is this supposed to happen?!

On my stock heatsink my CPU was idleing and like 49C and I decided I wanted to cool it down. So i bought a Cooler Master Dream 3 heatsink and AS5. I installed both things and I just booted up and my temps are idleing at like 61C!!!

I know they are supposed to be a little hot at first... but this much?!

Is this normal and when will it start to go down? Is it safe for me to have this running at these temps?

I have a Celeron D 330

thanks!
__________________

dbernie41 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

You might want to make sure the heatsink is working. If it has a fan than make sure it's spinning. Get a reliable temperature monitor or check in the bios. Make sure the AS5 was applied correctly and in the correct spot.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

To monitor temps I am using Speedfan.

The fan is spinning.

And I applied the AS5 directly onto the processor. I used a credit card to cover the entire top of the CPU in a thin layer. It could possibly have been too thin but I doubt it.
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Also, I dont even know how to get into BIOS

The only program running right now is Speedfan and its now at 64C and I am going to be gone for over an hour so I think I am going to shut it off for now.

*sigh* disappointed
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think that you put too much AS5 on. When you put it on, you should put a dab that is about the size of a grain of rice and spread it out so that it is the size of a dime.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dbernie41
I used a credit card to cover the entire top of the CPU in a thin layer.
Yeah you only need a small blob.

Also, did you clean the top of the CPU before you applied the AS5? You need something like 99% Isoproply Alcohol to clean it properly.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

it was about the size of 1.5 grains of rice and i just spread that around.

I cleaned the HS and CPU with rubbing alcohol using Q-tips and cotton balls before applying the AS5
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The amount would be fine, slightly too much, but not too too much.


How strong was the alcohol, as it has to be above 90% to get the CPU and heatsink properly clean.


Just a side note, what heatsink was it?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

This is my HS... I know its cheap but it got good reviews from Newegg customers so I figured it would be good.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103161

Also, I have less AS5 on than the amount of thermal paste that was on the stock heatsink.

Im currently running at 63C
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

The ammount of AS5 hardly matters at all..hell i dont even use it much now..there is a layer on the headsink, crusty and dried up, but it still works fine 33load on my 3200+, so yea

Make your you mount the Heatsink properly, and screw it down enough so there is a decent downforce.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.