Help Needed with New PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2006, 05:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default Help Needed with New PC

Hello All, I bought my computer from pc world last year it cost £599 for the tower alone, below are the specs

MICROSOFT XP HOME EDITION SP2
1GB RAM
260GB HARD DISK SPACE
256MB NVIDIA GRAPHICS CARD
DVD-RW
MEDIA READER/WRITER
ETC

Ive noticed that when the machine has been on for around 2 hours, or when playing a game, the machine almost comes to a hault, windows desktop slows, can i send you a log somehow? i dont have tiem time to re-format. Thanks

Lawrie
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

what kind of GPU??
__________________

__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

I would make sure that your video card is working correctly. You can do this in the device manager. At least see if update drivers are available.

Another possibility is a scheduled task going on in the background after a set amount of time, or at a certain point (ie. when you start a game).

Hope I was able to help.

Dex
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 03:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

Hi if you mean cpu? i have a pentium 4 processor, i will download the updates for the graphics card, also how do i work out what task might be in the background? would it be easier to send you log?
ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 06:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I doubt it would be a scheduled task, as they usually don't schedule themselves. But to check, go to Control Panel > Scheduled tasks. If there's none there, then there aren't any tasks.

My guess would be virus/spyware, or heat. What are your CPU temps?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Ah yes, heat would do it. Running processor intensive programs such as games would do that. Go into your bios and check the temps.

Alternatively, you can send me a log at dexcarm89 at gmail.com and I will look it over, I'm not sure how much good it will do.
__________________

__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.