Help my friend please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 01:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default Help my friend please

He asked this question and i know alot of you are pros so could you help?

Quote:
Okay, I just bought a new comp, but when I set it up, just the fans and internal lights come on, the burner and drives and such just dont seem to come on, I have a 350 watt power supply, and I just cant fingure it out, I'm thinking its my motherboard (faulty?). Anyone have any idea? Any help is much needed, thank you.
__________________

Tenken is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 01:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

disconnect everything, take the motherboard out and put in on a cardboard box so it won't ground out.

Plug in only the keyboard, 1 stick of RAM and the video card (and of course CPU )

Make sure the case is close enough so you can plug in the PC speaker for beeps.

Try to turn it on, if it comes on, it was being grounded out in the case

If it doesn't, take out the graphics card see if it gives you a beep code, if it does, then reseat the card and try it again, if it doesn't work after reseating then your card is bunk.

Repeat the same process with the RAM....if that doesn't work then it's either the CPU or mobo and the only way you can find out which it is, is if you had a spare mobo to put the CPU in
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

have you ever breadboxed a computer Nubius? its so awesome to have all the computer parts fastened to a cardboard box case.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

what are the specs of his comp specifically
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 63
Default

RAM: 1gb stick ddr ram
video card: radeon 9600 xp 256mb
motherboard: dci amd 64bit 2000mhz
Processor: amd athlon 64 3200+
Tenken is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

diablo....what is the point of having the specs in this situation really?

Try those suggestions I gave you Tenken and report back.

Quote:
have you ever breadboxed a computer Nubius? its so awesome to have all the computer parts fastened to a cardboard box case
I was thinking about putting my parts in a box while my computer is being modded so I could still use it, but I didn't want something happening to it
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.