Help my 7-year old comp out =D

Status
Not open for further replies.

wootwoot

In Runtime
So I just want some more "performance" outta this ol' piece of crap. I've never done this before so can someone walk me through it =D.
Specs:
AMD Athlon XP 3000+
447 MB RAM (weird number)
VIA/S3G UniChrome IGP

Don't know much else about it.

Pull a gun out and shoot it. If you want some performance out of it, your going to have to do a lot... So I would personally recommend either buying a new system or building one. Either way you win...

BUT... what do you do with it that you want to upgrade?

Based on the specs it is most likely a 939 socket with onboard graphics. Run CPU-Z for the full motherboard info. Most likely you are looking at a new mb, ram, cpu and gpu. What is your budget?

Edit: what type of weapon would you recommend nukem?

lol I was referring to what weapon would be the best to shoot it with. I am thinking full automatic.

But back on topic what will you use the computer for and what is the budget? We cannot do much without that info.

lol I was referring to what weapon would be the best to shoot it with. I am thinking full automatic.

But back on topic what will you use the computer for and what is the budget? We cannot do much without that info.

An AT-4 they are disposable like the PC.

Based on the specs it is most likely a 939 socket with onboard graphics. Run CPU-Z for the full motherboard info. Most likely you are looking at a new mb, ram, cpu and gpu. What is your budget?

Edit: what type of weapon would you recommend nukem?

There is no AMD XP for socket 939, plus 939 came out less than 5 years ago so it wouldn't be in a 7 year old computer. Would of been nice for him if he did have one since you can upgrade to a dual core with one. But he most likely has a Socket A or maybe a 754 but those aren't even 7 years old.

In any case to the OP your basics of overclocking are to
find out what temps your system can handle (look online for your cpu),