Help me shop for a computer... please... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2005, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Help me shop for a computer... please...

Well as the subject states... Im shopping for a new computer and would like some help... Im going to build my own but this is my first attempt at doing so... Im hoping to spend around $1000 to get the components... I have an ATX case, 2 asus CD-R drives, speakers, and monitor already.... so that $1000 is pretty much going toward the guts of it... MoBo, CPU, Memory, Graphics Card, Power Supply... and i might be forgetting something so if i am... i need to get one of those too...

The main purpose of this computer is going to be recording and editing audio... I know that AMD outperforms Pentium chips for gaming, but what about something like this? also, because im going to be using the computer for audio recording, i would like to keep it quiet... might be interested in H2o cooling... but i dont know enough about it...

I do some gaming but im not too hardcore about it... i dont play a whole lot of 1st person shooters... im more of a guild wars type of guy... with that said i would still like decent performance if want to run a game at 1600x1200...

for my audio interface ive already decided to get this... (system requirements listed on the link)
http://www.emu.com/products/product....y=754&nav=requ

Any help/advice would be appreciated... thanks in advance...
__________________

u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default

oh yea... i bought some extra memory a while ago...... but i dont remember what it is... is there a way i can find out what kind of memory i am using without taking this computer apart?
__________________

u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Search for some past posts. People post on this topic every single day.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

DFI motherboard-
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor-146
CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWINX1024-3200C2PT-121
Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive + Thermaltake Sata Cable-65
Microsoft Windows XP Home w/Service Pack 2-92
Mitsumi USB2.0 Digital Card Reader/Writer W/FD INTERNAL, Model FA404A/404M-20
eVGA 6600GT 128MB DDR3/PCI-E/TV-Out/Dual-DVI-169

3x Antec LED80XFAN 80mm Blue LED Light Cooling Fan-24

ASPIRE X-Dreamer II ATXB4KLW-AL Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 350W Power Supply-57
I'd get this case comes with 2 fans, 1 side, 1 top.
mount 1 in front and 2 in rear. for total of 5. But you already have a case, so the fans is up to you.


If you have monitor,lcd,keyboard/mouse, and speakers then use what's left for a bigger hard drive.
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default

oh yea... i forgot to mention i have 4 WD 120GB hard drives already... They were on sale at the local best buy for $40 after rebates... ... Im considering setting up a RAID system, but Im not sure which one...

also what do you think of your Asus SLI-Deluxe?
u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default

I was actually thinking of going with a set up really similar to yours...

Asus A8N-SLI Premium
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Asus EN 6600 GT/TD/128
not sure what memory yet though... do you use 1 stick of dual channel memory? or 2 seperate memory sticks?

What do you think?
u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Dual channel = two identical sticks. Otherwise, you just have a total RAM of the two added together.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Dual channel = two identical sticks. Otherwise, you just have a total RAM of the two added together.
Same size, not identical. I can easily run some kingston and ultra (elexir) memory in dual channel.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I would recommend going Intel on this one. But that's just me, and I'm more of an AMD guy.

Take advantage of DDR2, and get an aftermarket quiet cooler.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I don't think having IDE drives for Raid would be optimal.... (I'm pretty sure that the drives on sale at best buy were IDE)

By the way, look into dual core. The 4200+ ones are pretty cheat, 525 for OEM.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.