Help me shop for a computer... please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

u4ic_fln

Baseband Member
Well as the subject states... Im shopping for a new computer and would like some help... Im going to build my own but this is my first attempt at doing so... Im hoping to spend around $1000 to get the components... I have an ATX case, 2 asus CD-R drives, speakers, and monitor already.... so that $1000 is pretty much going toward the guts of it... MoBo, CPU, Memory, Graphics Card, Power Supply... and i might be forgetting something so if i am... i need to get one of those too...

The main purpose of this computer is going to be recording and editing audio... I know that AMD outperforms Pentium chips for gaming, but what about something like this? also, because im going to be using the computer for audio recording, i would like to keep it quiet... might be interested in H2o cooling... but i dont know enough about it...

I do some gaming but im not too hardcore about it... i dont play a whole lot of 1st person shooters... im more of a guild wars type of guy... with that said i would still like decent performance if want to run a game at 1600x1200...

for my audio interface ive already decided to get this... (system requirements listed on the link)
http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp?product=2211&category=754&maincategory=754&nav=requ

Any help/advice would be appreciated... thanks in advance...

oh yea... i bought some extra memory a while ago...... but i dont remember what it is... is there a way i can find out what kind of memory i am using without taking this computer apart?

Search for some past posts. People post on this topic every single day.

DFI motherboard-
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor-146
CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWINX1024-3200C2PT-121
Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive + Thermaltake Sata Cable-65