Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2008, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

Hello, I have a Q6600 which is already overclocked at 3.2(400x8). My VID is 1.224. I am running 400x8 at 1.29 volts stable temps are 31C idle 38C Full Load. When I try to increase my multipler to 9 so I can reach 3.6 GHz, I raise my vcore to like around 1.3 but my computer would like to the Vista loading screen then restart or blue screen. My Ram is Newegg.com - OCZ SLI-Ready Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory at 2.1 volts and timings are 5-4-4-15. I have the AC Freezer 7 Heatsink. Can someone please help me reach 3.6 GHz, Thank you.
__________________

Viscin is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

try bumpin up your voltage a little more.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

okay when i get home im gonna try like 1.37-1.4 and il let you know
Viscin is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

I think over 3.2 is when you gotta have skillz. I tried boosting mine up and gave up..... kay only szpent 20 minutes, but 3.2 only took 5 minutes to achieve.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

I am seeing a lot of people with ~1.4v for 3.6ghz
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

With that VID i'd guess its going to take around 1.45v
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

ya i agree w/ vdub its gonna be somethin over 1.42v and prolly around 1.45
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

So I got to 3.6(9x400) at 1.38v running idle 39C and full load 52C. Again I have the AC Freezer 7. How far can i push my cpu like the highest temp and highest vcore that is safe. I am looking to hit 4.0GHz. the 3.6 GHz is a stable O.C
Viscin is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 10:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

i wouldnt wanna let the temps go to far past 65C... the Tjmax is 100C i believe, but you really wouldnt wanna push it that far. you can push the vcore as high as you want if you've got good enough cooling, but on air i wouldn't wanna go beyond 1.5V or so... but thats assuming you've got your temps still acceptable at that voltage, which i really doubt they would be with your VID
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 10:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Help me reach 3.6 GHz with my Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viscin View Post
bump..
nice one waiting just over 30 minutes to bumb... ive seen a few hours maybe 1 hour here and there but never as low as 30 minutes, people are not payed to answer your questions here so give it a day or 2 before you bump your post please


also pretty much no1 that i know have has ever achived a 24/7 4.0ghz on a q6600

also ur voltage seems pretty low for a 3.6 stable what stress testing program did u use?
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Intel Overclocking thread Ste Overclocking and Modding 459 01-26-2010 07:49 AM
Intel Processor run down VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2008 12:35 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
Ocing Q6600 past 3.2 GHz on an eVGA 680i Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 32 09-05-2008 01:04 AM
OK, ocing my q6600 to 3.6 & ram ocing. (no, not a how do i oc thread) Luke Overclocking and Modding 10 08-29-2008 02:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.